What goes around comes around…

January 31st – just squeaking in under the wire to write the blog post that I challenged myself to do once each month for the first quarter of the year.  I was thinking of writing something else entirely when an Armitageworld friend brought this to my attention:

If I had to paint a picture of my reaction to the publication of this book…a sequel 20 years in the asking…it would be something like this:

Once upon a time, almost four years ago, Jazzbaby and I found out that we both had really enjoyed Anne Rice’s The Mummy, or Ramses the Damned.  Rice is perhaps best known for her vampire novels and I’ve read and enjoyed a number of the adventures of Rice’s generations of vamps, but I really, really loved The Mummy, so it was fun to talk about the book with someone who also shared another interest with me.  *cough*  This other shared interest led us to a common Armitageworld occupation – dReAmcasting.

Jazz and I worked our way through the main characters in The Mummy and by the end came to the conclusion that Richard Armitage would be a great choice to play an ancient king turned immortal wanderer who still suffered acutely from all too mortal emotions and decisions.

Looking back, I stand behind all of our dReAmcasting choices, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the new book so I can read it with Richard Armitage in mind as Ramses the Damned. Move over Matthew Clairmont (as it happens, apparently that role has been taken anyway) there’s a new supernatural being in town!!

7 comments on “What goes around comes around…

  1. Servetus says:

    Bryan Fuller is now working on Rice’s show. I haven’t been following it really closely but there’s some fan hope that this duo would bring Armitage to the screen as a vampire.

    • obscura says:

      Hmmm…I’m not sure how I feel about that as I find Fuller to be…um…self indulgent(?) in his productions. Rice is no slouch in that area either, so I really wonder how that will all go down.

      • Servetus says:

        Totally agree Fuller, but she’s been very vocal about her Armitage love, and he’s got the connections (assuming nothing’s happened to sour the relationship). I don’t even know if it’s a possibility. (And you know my ennui regarding vampires, so …)

  2. […] She said she was going to post at least one post per month (and just made it in time for January in her post yesterday). I’ll try the same with one *shrine* per month. Looking at the total number of shrines, what […]

  3. jholland says:

    Interesting about the Fuller/Anne Rice combination. Could be either a match made in heaven or an epic disaster! I haven’t read The Mummy! I did enjoy her first several vampire novels, though.

  4. Esther says:

    “an ancient king turned immortal wanderer who still suffered acutely from all too mortal emotions and decisions.” – LOL, this sounds perfect for Richard!

Leave a comment