Well hello there 2018!

I read a thing on Facebook recently (which naturally, I cannot find again) that said something along the lines that 2017 was a year full of problems of all sorts, and dealing with them stifled the creativity of many people.  It went on to offer a wish of renewed creativity to all in 2018.  I really couldn’t agree more!  You may or may not know that in addition to following the career of Richard Armitage, I am also a long time fan of SpongeBob Squarepants – in fact, I find that there are few occasions in life that can’t be connected to a SpongeBob episode.

Case in point:  Looking for the 2018 return to creativity this morning, I ran into the little image above…fellow SpongeBob fans will know that the the rainbow over his head appears when SpongeBob arcs his hands and says,

“Imaginaaaaation!!!” 

Works for me.  I don’t usually set minimums for myself, because I find that they are far too easily broken as goals, but in terms of blogging, I think I’ll look at it as a challenge to ease myself back into regular posting.  So here’s my thought:  in the first quarter of 2018, I’ll post at least once per month.  In the second, at least twice, and so on.  I think setting some reasonable goals for myself might be just the ticket to unlocking my creativity vault..

In other news, the upper midwest has been a deep freeze over the Christmas/New Year’s holiday – can you say, “Cabin Fever?!”  Since we’ve been cooped up, we’ve been experimenting with our new favorite kitchen gadget, the SodaStream Fizzi that I got as a gift from my parents.  I’m hopeful that the omnipresence of fizzy water will help me break my soda swilling ways in 2018!  I’ve also been assembling ingredients to try out several TASTY recipes that I’ve been binge watching lately (I’ve also made a pledge to myself to stop eating so much junk in favor of cooking and carrying.)

Last but not least (I rushed Super Glam Daughter to get ready to leave, so I dare not dally…) is a very exciting announcement of travel in 2018.

As with the 2016 trip, if anyone in Armitageworld is interested in joining the group, you are most welcome.  (If you are from outside of the US and interested in joining the tour, email me and I’ll send you the price for Greece only.)  

Here’s to 2018 – a year of renewed creativity and expression!

Happy New Year Armitageworld!!

27 comments on “Well hello there 2018!

  1. Servetus says:

    I just posted it to your wall — I had thought about blogging about it but now I’m so glad you did! Happy New Year!!

  2. jazzbaby1 says:

    Hey, sidewinder, how ya been?

  3. Hariclea says:

    Happy to see you and have really good new year! Nice goals which i may try to share Here’s to creativity and peace of mind to let it come to us

  4. Guylty says:

    Great new year’s resolution. And even better news about the Greece tour. Welcome back in blogworld and happy new year!

    • obscura says:

      Thanks – I usually try to stay away from resolutions because something in my wiring treats that as a license to abandon the effort, but…

      You know, I hadn’t planned to do another tour so soon, but when your new boss brings an opportunity to you, you jump right? Now that I’m in the swing of it, I’m looking forward to it – plus, I’ve arranged it so that I’ll be in one of my favorite places on a momentous birthday!

  5. Perry says:

    I’m looking forward to reading more from you. Happy New Year!

  6. Teuchter says:

    Happy New Year obscura!!

  7. Happy New Year 2018, Obscura! Great to know that you’ll be back to blogging now and again. I agree with you on setting reasonable goals. And if circumstances–such as life, Ha!–throw us a curveball, then we can adjust our goals/plans accordingly. Holiday Cheers! Grati ;->

    • obscura says:

      Thanks Grati! I’ve spent the last few months (ok, maybe six) looking around and taking stock of things….I’ve watched colleagues find time – or maybe just take it – to do things that are important to them, and I need to do the same. I’ve stepped back from some things so that I can step forward with others. It actually feels pretty good to make some changes in longstanding activities.Here’s to a productive and creative 2018!

  8. katie70 says:

    Happy New Year!!

    • obscura says:

      Thanks katie70 – Happy New Year to you too! Have you heard this lately – “Is it cold enough for you?” Really people? Is that the best you can do after a week of double digit negative wind chills?!

      • katie70 says:

        I have been staying inside for the most part enjoying the break off from school. I most people I have talked to are looking forward to next week when it warms up. I think last year spoiled everyone with very little cold.

  9. Mezz says:

    Happy New Year!

  10. zan says:

    Happy New Year, Obscura! Welcome back! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us. 😊

  11. […] If you’re newer to the fandom, you may not yet have been exposed to my buddy Obscura. She’s been a bit blog-challenged lately due to monumentous life events, but she is again leading a trip to Greece in the coming fall, and I know the fellow Armitage fans who went along last time had a lot of fun. Check it out here! […]

  12. Kathy Jones says:

    Happy new year babe. The last time I saw you, you were rock’n red hair. I think you should extend your Greek trip to have a AHA reunion. ☺

Leave a comment