You may have just gone too far Richard Armitage!

I just finished reading the new Empire interview…it’s a departure from what’s rather become the norm, but I have to admit, I was shocked!  Shocked!

I might have snickered at your “cheeks or crack” riposte…

I definitely sniggered at your possibly pocket pooly repartee to “What’s in your pocket right now?”

….but this….this right here…I’m stunned…ahast even!

milk snip

WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU DON’T DRINK MILK!?!?

How am I supposed to hold my head up in America’s Dairyland after this?   How can you say such a thing after you donned the unofficial insignia of dairy royalty?   You roll around in ribald remarks ’til the cows come home, but iks-nay on the ilk-may issness-bay…

What’s that?  Remember the “lots of chocolate ice cream” you say??

*Sigh*   I guess that counts…but let’s try to avoid dissing the dairy in the future alright?!

You can keep the hat – looks good on ‘ya!!

I'm only kinda sorry for this one....   :)

I’m only kinda sorry for this one…. 🙂

I seem to be feeling a lot better today!!   Thanks for that!!!

67 comments on “You may have just gone too far Richard Armitage!

  1. Guylty says:

    LOL. You had me for a moment when I read the headline! But what sigh of relief, you were outraged at something else. Sadly, I may not be allowed entry into Wisconsin either. I hate cheese. I drink soya milk in my tea. At least I am in good company with Armitage. Or is that bad company? A man who plays in his pocket. Well, I have a few shrines to go with that…

  2. jholland says:

    How Dare He Diss The Dairy!

  3. KellyDS says:

    I took the talk of hairy asses & genitals in pockets in stride but I was shocked that he’s not a milk drinker too! LOL! I should probably examine my sensibilities…

    • obscura says:

      *chortle* I suppose it comes with the territory when living with multiple males. But the milk…you can’t have any pockets if you don’t drink your milk! (sorry – not sorry…)

  4. Hariclea says:

    so glad you’re doing better 🙂
    i am with you i just stopped dead as not drinking milk almost equally means ‘don’t really drink… shudders…. TEA!’ how can he not drink tea????? this will take a lot of explaining i tell ya…

    • obscura says:

      I hadn’t even thought of that…must one drink milk in tea? (I…hesitate to admit…don’t really drink hot tea…*ducks*)

      • Hariclea says:

        oh you’re ok, you’re not born here :-p I can’t imagine black tea without milk these days though being a foreigner i too started with black tea with sugar and lemon or rum 😉 But now only +milk will do 🙂 Strange, he certainly doesn’t seem lactose intolerant, with all the cheese eating and that

      • KellyDS says:

        I don’t drink tea either. Richard does though, remember he almost over-dosed on it in that Anglophile interview 😀

  5. sparkhouse1 says:

    I think him saying he doesn’t drink milk is a coverup for not knowing the price of milk…he is probably embarrassed having the world know he doesn’t do his own shopping!

  6. LOL! Guess RA won’t be doing one of those “Got Milk” ads. But probably a “Got Wine” ad. Speaking of dairy products, I wonder what RA would make out of the “butter cow” at the state fair? It’s a life size sculpture of a cow–made entirely of yellow butter. We had to check it out every year when I was growing up. Ha!

    • obscura says:

      LOL…our local pride and joy was called the “Belle of Wisconsin”…a 20 ton block of cheddar!

      • I think it must be a Midwest thing. Ha! When I went for college orientation decades ago–an overnight in the dorm–my roommate from a big city asked what my cow’s name was. I had to disappoint her and tell her that I didn’t have a cow, nor had I even seen one in the flesh. I lived in a city, too–just with 3 million fewer people in it.

        Flash forward twenty years when I lived in a small town for a few years and at its Centennial celebration, one of the games was “Bossie Bingo”. Basically, you bought a square and then tried to call over the cow to go near it in hopes of said cow “eliminating” on your square. The prize was a very lovely quilt–which I didn’t win. Either my cow calling was not very good–or my interpretation of cow facial expressions was faulty. There were other farm animal “games” involving mailboxes and such. But I’ll stop there. Ha! Of course the money raised went toward the local library and grade school. I’ve been back living in “a city” for over twenty years. Whew!

        • obscura says:

          Yeah…get that a lot. I grew up in the vicinity of farms, but not on one – I think I gave a try at milking a cow by hand once…ick. I know where milk et al comes from, but I prefer to get it in a plastic jug over straight from the source 🙂

      • I just grokked that. 20 TONS!

      • Hariclea says:

        that’s what i call cheese heaven!

  7. I… don’t drink milk either.

    **shuffles feet**

  8. katie70 says:

    This Wisconsin girl is not a milk drinker, really can’t stand the stuff and never really have. I still like cheese, ice cream, sour cream and butter etc. Hate the taste it leaves in my mouth and can’t even stand it on cereal. Almond milk plain unsweeten works for all the milk in my life that is not cooked.

  9. Perry says:

    Why were Brownies invented, if not to have with a glass of milk?

  10. […] thoughts about  Richard Armitage’s recent Empire article interview’s rapid Q & A response to his startling lack of milk affinity, with great humor. In fact, she and I exchanged several sisterly comments about dairy products in our respective […]

  11. fedoralady says:

    I am so glad you are feeling better, Obscura. When we can laugh, it’s always a good sign. 😉

    I said goodbye and good riddance to my gall bladder a while back. Haven’t missed it. 😉 I pretty much drink only skim milk these days–I have cholesterol issues, alas—and you get used to it after a while. Now when I drink the full fat kind, even 2 percent, it tastes really–RICH. Every so often Benny buys “real” milk just for a change. However, I do like to add liquid creamer of various flavors to my morning cup of joe. A splurge!

    But milk and chocolate definitely go together—one of my husband’s chocolate cakes or ooey gooey brownies is all the more delicious with milk. Yummm. And Guy loves milk with his choccy treats. He gets the cutest milk mustache, I am tellin’ ya. 😉

    • obscura says:

      Thanks Angie…I honestly can’t believe (today I’m a week past surgery) how quickly I feel so much better!!

      I always have 1% and occasional hubs will buy whole milk which tastes like drinking butter to me 🙂

      There is some unholy edit bunnies calling for a Guy with milk mustache!!

  12. Esther says:

    LOL!!
    But if he likes chocolate and ice cream he can’t be completely anti-dairy, so there’s hope for the man yet. 🙂

  13. linnetmoss says:

    But he likes cheese, right??? Please say it’s so…
    I think Wisconsin is a bit different from other states in terms of milk consumption by adults. I was surprised to be served milk as a beverage for Sunday lunch there. And schoolchildren used to have “mid-morning milk” served to them, as the Long-Suffering Husband explained to me. Very good for them it was too. Lots of calcium 🙂

    • obscura says:

      And Vitamin D (and BGH, but we’ll not go there…)

      Milk is definitely always available in copious quantities as a beverage option at any communal meal in these parts 🙂

  14. I don’t drink milk either. I won’t even put it on cereal. I either eat it dry or use water. I drink my coffee black. The only thing I ever use it in is tea and then it’s usually almond milk 😉

  15. Servetus says:

    Men aren’t so vulnerable to osteoporeosis, are they?

Leave a Reply

