inter alia: A belated Happy Mother’s day….REALLY belated!

I found this on my RL Facebook feed and almost died laughing…

 

This papyrus fragment records the remains of a letter sent from in the first century AD from one Hikane o her son Isidoros and it goes a little something like this:

The parentheses represent insertions of standard bits of text that are not actually present on the papyus, but can be easily inferred.

The parentheses represent insertions of standard bits of text that are not actually present on the papyus, but can be easily inferred.

Ahhh, a mother’s capacity for laying guilt LOVE is timeless!

(sounds like something I said yesterday after Mini Me woke me up from my Mother’s Day siesta for the third time in 45 minutes.)

6 comments on “inter alia: A belated Happy Mother’s day….REALLY belated!

  1. Guylty says:

    *muhahaha* Almost word for word what my mother said to me a week ago… There we go. Nothing has changed. No doubt I will soon say it to my own spawn. Well, I’ll claim I am citing from antiquity. Thanks for that, Obscura!!!

  2. linnetmoss says:

    Totally love this! Hope you had a great Mother’s Day 🙂

  3. Servetus says:

    think of the effort and expense of that message, lol 🙂

  4. Hariclea says:

    amazing, mothers and their guilt laying powers have remained unchanged in centuries! :-))) i couldn’t stop laughing at ‘after i carried you for 10 months bladibla… ‘ and ‘you haven’t written’ 😀
    Hope you did get spoiled on mum’s day even if you didn’t get a siesta 🙂

Leave a Reply

