et alia: S#$t my family says (and does)…Installment ??

It was cold and windy on Tuesday…a textbook Winnie the Pooh “blustery day”…and I was idly pondering if Richard Armitage pumps his own gas as I stood at the pump with my hair blowing in my face.  (I concluded that unless he has someone to do it for him, he must since “full service” gas stations are pretty much obsolete, in the US at least)  Fuel loaded and gas cap secured, I wandered into the mini market to stock up for Twelve Hour Tuesday.  The following is a post to my RL Facebook feed recounting the events…

image

Groucho Marx glasses avatar is me….

Good grief.  I probably should have been more mortified than I was – I can only imagine how my toilet paper tail must have been blowing about in all that wind at the gas pump!  I’d like to also point out the loving reactions of my family and friends…

Helicopter Beanie is a friend from school

Red Fez is my cousin (more like a sister)

Pink Heart is a dear friend

And it get’s better…as Red Fez Cousin points out…Pink Heart Pal is an inquiring mind…

image

I decided to tell the story myself to spare Red Fez Cousin the stomach cramps she would surely suffer as she laughs herself into spasms every time she tells this story…for the last three DECADES  😉

What can I say?  It’s a gift!!

tumblr_n9qrcrcMt41smcbm7o1_500

 

12 comments on “et alia: S#$t my family says (and does)…Installment ??

  1. jholland says:

    ROFL. Well, we’ve all done ridiculous things. Bless those that have the nerve to take us aside and let us know. I wore my maternity pants on inside out AND backwards to work one time and it wasn’t until the midmorning that one of the kennel personnel had the decency to tell me. Bless him! =)

    • obscura says:

      Totally – I was comforted by the knowledge that this is certainly NOT the most embarassing thing I’ve ever done 😀

      • Guylty says:

        Ok, you *do* realize that a comment like that demands further details. So what IS the most embarrassing thing you have ever done, advertently or inadvertently???

        • obscura says:

          Ummm…the swing episode is up there – so is upending and going tail over teakettle twice in the same day on a dig site in Italy, nearly crashing into the city bus with my topless Fiat Panda…scooting down the spiral stairs from St. Peter’s cupola on my bum to avert my sudden fear of falling down and toppling a stream of descending tourists like dominoes… shall I go on? 😀

          • Guylty says:

            Oh, I love the story of bumping down the stairs on your bum… But hey, you know, the whole embarrassment thing is just overrated. It’s probably more in our minds than on those people’s who witnessed it. I mean, I can hardly remember any particularly embarrassing episode I witnessed other people in…

  2. Guylty says:

    This keeps on giving. I am glad you came clean – and entertained us along the way…

  3. […] Over at Ancient Armitage, I am happy to report that I can still rely on the kindness of strangers to avert massive mortification… […]

  4. Hariclea says:

    LOL, never a boring day and what would we do without loveable friends and relative to remind us of these incidents forever and ever 😉
    I share this gift too, i turned uo today with my jumper inside out, all labels aflutter in the rush and showing and went straight into a meeting! Nobody said a thing but as soon as i came out and crossed the office to dump my stuff on the desk before ducking into the ladies every single person i passed pointed out my jumper was inside out.. and loudly!
    but this is only a very mild incident 😉 You get to perform your talents in full glory when you have a job that involves travels, unknown offices and office appliances and furniture and client meetings cough cough..

  5. Perry says:

    Never had a toilet paper trail, but, I was walking down Amsterdam Avenue, NYC in jeans I had worn the day before. Must have just ripped them off the night before ( Perhaps a little inebriated). As I was walking, a teen-aged boy said, “Hey lady, your underwear is coming out of your leg!.” And sure, enough, yesterday’s panties were dangling out of my left jean bottom. This was much more embarrassing than when I was walking one night on the upper east side and my slip ( I wore them at that time), with lazy elastic, just dropped out of my skirt to the pavement. I delicately stepped out of it and left it there – but no one saw.

  6. Esther says:

    Mwahahahahaha! Thanks for the laughs!

Leave a Reply

