inter alia: Random goofiness that distracts me today

Distracts me in more than one way.  It’s been a kind of wild weekend on in real and blog life, and I find myself in need of a little diversion this afternoon, so I thought I’d share.

Diversion 1 is a recollection of another episode from “Sh$t my Family Says” conversation at dinner last night.  Because of an unfortunate shortfall of a single shape of pasta, Picky Eaters (husband and son who must have long spaghetti type pasta) were already finished eating and watching Forrest Gump in the livingroom.  Mini Me and I were in the diningroom eating a combination of 11-13 minute pastas (rigatoni & d’italini to be exact – it’s distracting already isn’t it?!).   When talk turns to movies the conversation evolves as follows:

Mini Me asks conversationally:  “Is there a movie named MILFs?”

I swallow and pause before answering as I hear husband say to son:  “Did she just say ‘Is there a movie named MILFs?'” followed by stereo baritone snickering as husband replies, “I think there a LOT of movies named MILF’s honey.”

Mini Me looks to me…I take the easy way out, shrug and say:  “Dad says ‘yes.'”  She must have been really tired because she let it go at that.

Diversion 2 – The KFC Spork…

spork

who knew there was a Facebook page dedicated to it?

The spork has taken a new shape since I last visited the Colonel’s.  Is it just me, or does the spork now resemble a tiny shovel?!

There you go…diversions for a really grey, gloomy Monday in my part of the world.  Cheers!

 

8 comments on “inter alia: Random goofiness that distracts me today

  1. Servetus says:

    Tag team parenting …

  2. Hariclea says:

    mini-me is sweet 🙂 and you 2 pulled it back right from the edge there!
    and ohhh we don’t have them showelly forks in the UK! True i haven’t been in aaaages probably in some 2 years at that particular outlet but they didn’t offer anything like that, maybe i’ll visit when back from home, though after pork-products induced coma i will probably have to stay on strictly herbivore diet for a while to recover..

    • obscura says:

      Visits home can be that way can’t they? They’d always had the spark, but it looked more like a spoon with a few tine…this is decidedly more shovel like 🙂

    • obscura says:

      Oh, and don’t let Mini Me fool you…she may look all sweet and cherubic, but what lies beneath? Case in point. Last week I was working in the church kitchen and she was playing in the dining hall….music blaring (we were otherwise alone in the building). At one point I look out to find her in the midst of what can only be described as pole dancing. “Please don’t do that,” I say. “Why not?” She responds. “1. We’re at church and I’d rather you not pretend to be a stripper here, and 2. You’re 9.” “Well you know Mom, I have the brain of a 15 year old,” she answers succinctly. Mission accomplished…I’ve got nothing for that. 😀

  3. Thank you! You had me laughing out loud – I scared my dogwho happens to be laying on my feet. Parenting has some interesting moments, eh?

Leave a Reply

