A Modern Classic: SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge

I was originally planning to post on a book from my own childhood – Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls.  I bought a copy to re-read it and then promptly misplaced it.  I highly recommend it for the tween and up set, but it’s been so long, that I can’t remember the details.

There are a ton of books that I read to my kids that I remember much more clearly.  You’ve already heard about Mini Me’s pick.  My son is bit harder to crack…he refused to acknowledge that there was a “timeless” book from his childhood (because at 15-1/2, he clearly considers himself well removed from *that*).

While I was contemplating books of impact on the boy, Jazzbaby1 and I were chatting and laughing about a particularly “glamorous” aspect of parenting….the intensive interest the bodily functions of other people.  I don’t think there’s a parent in the world who has not, at one point or another been concerned with their child’s …ah…output, or lack thereof.  And then it came to me – the perfect book to profile on behalf of my son:  Everyone Poops by Taro Gomi.  When I mentioned it to him, he laughed and then expressly forbade from doing it…oh my son…you may as well have double dog dared me to!

image

I had actually heard about it long before I had children, but for any parent who has a child struggling with potty training, or an older child struggling with public “performance” this book is fantastic.  It is a straightforward, colorfully illustrated book that takes the mystery out of a process that a lot of kids find scary or embarrassing, by making it funny and universal.

image

I’m glad we cleared that up…

The book addresses questions about the poop of one hump camels versus two hump camels and ponders the nature of whale poop.  My son always laughed the hardest at the following page:

Maybe it was the prose, or maybe it was the reader furnished sound effects...

Maybe it was the prose, or maybe it was the reader furnished sound effects…

The book takes the reader through all sorts of animals and their various poop styles concluding simply,

“All living things eat, so…

image

P.S.  If you like Everyone Poops, you won’t want to miss The Gas We Pass!   😀

6 comments on “A Modern Classic: SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge

  1. jazzbaby1 says:

    Can I like this more than once? I love this book. 🙂

    • obscura says:

      I know!! I was looking for our copy last night…I knew I had just seen it, so I asked MiniMe, and she said, “Everyone Poops? Is it in the car? I was reading that in the car.” OK then…traveling classic I guess 🙂

  2. Servetus says:

    I gave this to the nieces when they were very young and my SIL was not so amused 🙂

  3. guylty says:

    I wish I had known about this book when my kids were in the midst of potty training :-D. Fascinating subject. Even ten years on!

  4. […] of conversation – he refused to participate, I posted Everyone Poops on his […]

Leave a Reply

