et alia: So you want to write RAcy fan fiction? Caveat scriptor or “Don’t try this at home!”

Pompeii writer

As a fiction reader, I have always been drawn to authors who pay attention to details.  One of those details is plausibility of situations.  Obviously, the range of what is believable varies by genre.  Science and fantasy fiction push the boundaries of believability deliberately, challenging people to open their minds to new possibilities.  In more straight forward contemporary fiction, and especially historical fiction, it seems to me that at least basic plausibility is necessary.  If I can’t understand why a character would do something or if I can’t believe that the action is even possible, I generally lose interest in the story.  “Death is in the details…”

Since they inhabit the same general corner of my brain, my reading preferences were close by when I began writing.  Over the years, I’ve probably read more than my fair share of erotic fiction.  Looking back, I realize now that the bulk of what I’ve read falls into the “Romance Novel” category, with fairly euphemistic descriptions of sex.  I did take a foray into BDSM fiction in college.  I was a huge fan of Anne Rice at the time, reading everything of hers I could get my hands on including the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy written under the pseudonym of A. N. Roquelaure.  At that point in life, I was aghast, titillated, but aghast.  I’ve since learned that what was so shocking to me at 21 is pretty vanilla in comparison to the variety of erotica that is out there.  Erotica is a rapidly growing literary genre today – the enormous mainstream popularity of the Fifty Shades series illustrates how far it has come.

But I digress…I was talking about basic veracity in fiction writing wasn’t I?  When I started to read RAcy fan fiction, I often found myself wondering if particularly acrobatic positions were humanly possibly without double joints and a spotter.  (I’ve long wondered the same thing about some of the positions in the Kama Sutra.)  When I started writing my own stories I decided that in addition to believable basic elements of the story, I’d like to know if the intimate positions I was about to put my characters into were actually possible.  Enter the caveat scriptor:

Some of you may remember me complaining about an injured knee a few months ago.  The official story, the one I told my doctor and everyone else with the exception of my RA (Research Assistant that is – that’s my husband for writing research purposes 🙂 ) and my BFF, was that I slipped on some ice in my driveway.  I did slip on some ice, but that only aggravated an already injured joint.  The real story was that I was testing out a prospective “storytelling device” and sprained my knee.  The moral of my story is that before you try to test out “veracity” of this variety, make sure you stretch!

PS…I determined that this “device” was imminently believable for my characters since they are in much better physical condition than me 😀

PPS…if you’re considering a foray into erotic writing of your own, you may find Cosmopolitan magazine’s take on the Kama Sutra:  The Cosmo Sutra, quite useful!

21 comments on “et alia: So you want to write RAcy fan fiction? Caveat scriptor or “Don’t try this at home!”

  1. Hilarious. So is that art imitating life, or life imitating art? Either way, it’s very heartening that you’re so willing to do research. 😉

  2. Leigh says:

    I’m very sorry your knee had to suffer in pursuit of veracity. Lately, as a reader, I have had some trouble with fiction that is not physically possible, for humans anyway. I even drew a little sketch — but no, the geometry doesn’t work and even if it did, it does not seem like it would be fun. I have also had trouble with authors who seem to think that the clitoris is at the opening of the cervix, for example.

    • obscura says:

      It’s all better now 🙂 *giggle* Acrobatics is one thing – anatomical impossibilities is entirely another! 🙂 One thing I love about the Cosmos Sutra is that they rank things on a difficulty scale…”don’t try this unless you are in advanced yoga…” that is just not going to be possible for most people – even fictional people. Fortunately, there’s a wealth of variety available without the need of anti-gravity suits 🙂

  3. guylty says:

    LOL. And now of course I am curious again. Which position exactly??? Hahaha. Or at least point me into the direction of the particular chapter of your fanfic *ggg*. On that note – haven’t been in DF for a while. I found I had to come back to reality for a bit. I should go and check on the progress of the Porter fanfic. On the note of erotic fanfic, here’s a recommendation, a brief Thorin DA crossover fanfic, incidentally dedicated to me by a RL friend – http://hot-elf.tumblr.com/post/49861943879/keeping-you-warm-by-hot-elf

    • obscura says:

      A lady never injures herself and tells! (I will say that, embarrassingly, it was not even acrobatic) I am way ahead of you – I was properly chagrined and have committed myself to being a more active tumblr – I read Keeping You Warm this morning – son is a big fan of Dragon Age and wants to know more about it – um…NO 🙂 Let me know what you think when you get back in to read Recovery – I’m behind on updating because of end of term realities 🙂

  4. jasrangoon says:

    LOL! Your dedication to making sure your story is realistic is truly admirable. 😉 I haven’t been over to DF in a while now. Think it might be time for a visit.

    • obscura says:

      What is that saying? “One must suffer for one’s art” I rather thought that meant more emotional angst than a f’d up knee, but whatever it takes… 😉

  5. marieastra8 says:

    There was a piece on U.S. CBS Sunday Morning, about an erotic fiction writer who was in her 70’s I think, who used Barbie & Ken dolls to plot out her um stories. LOL!

    • obscura says:

      😀 I wonder how that works out given their inability to bend, lack of parts and the fact that Ken’s head pops off at the worst times… ;). There used to be a show called Sex Talk with Sue Johanson (who had to be in her 70’s at the time)…I would laugh myself silly when she got out her dolls, one red and one blue to illustrate positions.

  6. bechep says:

    Bahahahaha! As someone who is attempting my first PWP fanfic, I thank you for your advice. My husband thanks you too! 😉

  7. Servetus says:

    So are you writing “don’t try this at home” on your fanfic now? 🙂

  8. katie70 says:

    After all you must get everything right so your stories believable, right.

  9. […] On injuries developed while writing racy Armitage fan fiction! […]

  10. jazzbaby1 says:

    Dammit, when you said Cosmo Sutra my brain inserted Cosmo Kramer and of course NOW I’ m picturing interesting ways to skid into rooms…

Leave a Reply

