Verbum Latinum Hodie: Cupiditas

Before I get started, I should probably remark on how long it’s been since I’ve posted on this blog…so long that WordPress seems to have initiated a whole new post format.  At first glance?  Not a big fan.  Pfft.

pfft

Today’s, or rather yesterday’s Latin word of the day, cupiditas is a feminine noun meaning a longing or desire.  The usage of cupiditas can lean to the positive and refer to a longing for something harmless, but more frequently, it seems to teeter the opposite direction and is paired with overwhelming carnal passions or obsessive desire for wealth.

The notion of longing in general has been pretty close to the surface in me the last few days…

After a slip and fall last week, I have a cupiditas to put on a sock without wincing in discomfort.

The week has been consumed with drafting the class schedule for the 2017-18 academic year.  In the process of digging for something schedule related, I came across a handwritten draft of an epilogue for my John Porter fanfic, Recovery.  I have a magna cupiditas to finally complete that, and to get back to some recreational writing in general.

porter guns

Look at that gun…and I’m not talkin’ about the rifle!

Veering to the less than positive side of the word, having spent a good bit of time out and about with my fellow man in the last week, I have developed a maxima cupiditas to smack the next person who lets a door fly closed in my face, stops dead without warning in traffic, or cuts in front of me at the deli counter.  Honestly, what has happened to just plain basic courtesy lately?!  I offered to walk an elderly woman’s shopping cart back to the “cart corral” at Target the other day and she was so grateful you’d have thought I’d done her some huge service – actually, I thought the greater “service” on my part was my not asking out loud why she had had a poodle strapped into the baby seat of that same cart.  I admit to a cupiditas for a time when common courtesy wasn’t so very uncommon.

Richard Armitage Of "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" Photo Session

Mr. Rogers a la Richard Armitage Photo by George Pimentel

Oh well, until such a day rolls around, I think I’ll just continue to nurture my laeta cupiditas that this guy is every bit as Mr. Roger-y  on the courtesy front as he looks here in one of my all time favorite shots.  🙂

I will not venture to comment on the other multitude of cupiditates this image evokes….*cough*   Next up, today’s Latin Word of the Day…ignis:  FIRE!

 

13 comments on “Verbum Latinum Hodie: Cupiditas

  1. Servetus says:

    I think that’s a safe desire. I suspect he’s extremely polite. I’m sure he’d push your groceries to your car for you. And load them. And offer to go home with you and unload them. And offer to take off that sweater … oops, got a little out of hand there. Can’t wait for more leisure time writing from you!

  2. Guylty says:

    How are you healing, first of all? Was it possibly even a blessing in disguise to be incapacitated over Christmas – i.e. other people had to take on more work because you couldn’t do the usual woman thing and clean, cook and care over Christmas?
    As for cupiditas – I long for a new year that will come with less shock and horror…

    • obscura says:

      I’m feeling much better…new meds on board to manage the chronic thing and now just the intermittent twinge from the knee if I make an unexpected move. I never underestimate the capacity of my family to overestimate my capabilities. It’s not that they are callous, but they all live in their own heads a lot and aren’t always the most perceptive…coupled with the reality that I hate to ask for help, things could have gone more smoothly.

      I think you are probably far from alone in your cupiditas for a more tranquil 2017!

  3. linnetmoss says:

    Thanks for the refreshment of the Mr. Rogers-y photo (no doubt he is equally courteous). Wishing you a happy and healthy 2017!

    • obscura says:

      I suspect he would always hold a door 🙂 (I mean really…how hard is that people?!)

      That pic is several years old now (2012 I think?) but I 💝 it…checks every box!!

  4. jholland says:

    Sorry to hear you met with an accident and hope everything gets back on track and the donning of socks becomes less odious! It’s always an eye-opener, the little things we take for granted until suddenly they become an issue. And yeah, my version of Richard Armitage definitely holds doors, helps with heavy lifting, and is quick with the snow shovel. LOL.

    • obscura says:

      The donations were delivered to the shelter and the knee feels better everyday, so all is on the mend. I think the worst part is the aggressive reminder that I’m not 22 anymore…and also, they are called “slipper boots” for a reason!!

      Courtesy is a big turn on!!

  5. Hariclea says:

    Oh sorry to hear you have an ankle outchie! Hope it will improve soon! And yes holiday stress does bring out the worst in people especially in crowded places like shops. Oh well bit of egg nog and a lot of food will hopefully improve dispositions and actions. And of course he’s Mr Polite! 😊 looking forward to the return of your fun and wicked muse 😉 have a good new year! Xx

    • obscura says:

      Mercifully, the ankles survived unscathed…this time it was a knee – the good one unfortunately. It seems to be mending apace and at least some people seem to have shaken off the holiday “rudes”…

      The muse is circling…it occurs to me that I have no classes until the end of January – that could bode well 🙂

  6. Sorry to hear about your injury. Hope you’re on the mend soon! And basic courtesy is a pet peeve of mine, too. Maybe we need to start up a movement for “Random Acts of Courtesy”. *wink*

Leave a Reply

