Interrupting R/J swooning for an important PSA

thucydides-psa

Primary Source Assignment?  C’mon, the semester is over!

Fear not…I meant Public Service Announcement – especially for the travel minded.  Regular readers know that I led a combined group of Armitage fans and university related peeps to Greece in September.   Just a few weeks after I returned, my Greek travel agent and foodie extraordinaire George sent me an invitation that I am pleased to share with all of you..

grand-tour-greece

A 21 Day “Grand Tour” of Greece….all over the mainland and the islands.  Depending on what the next six months bring, I may or may not be going along as a guide on this trip, but whether I am there or not, I can say without reservation that George will provide an incredible tour experience.  If you take a look and are interested, drop me a note and I will put you directly in touch with George.

We now return to our original programming:  3….2….1

 

 

28 comments on “Interrupting R/J swooning for an important PSA

  1. Servetus says:

    And friend him on Facebook — the pictures of Gk food that he posts are amazing. https://www.facebook.com/george.portokalakis

  2. Servetus says:

    And no, I can’t read that in the original 😦

    • obscura says:

      “Thucydides the Athenian here writes of the war between the Peloponnesians and Athenians….” Yeah, without a dictionary, that’s all I’ve got!

      • Servetus says:

        LOL. Better in translation 🙂

        • obscura says:

          I never really achieved sight reading in ancient Greek…

          • Servetus says:

            I have a lot of respect for people who can do it. Ex-SO could read Koine. I stuck it out three weeks in Classical Greek I and gave up.

          • obscura says:

            So many declensions, voices and moods!!

          • Servetus says:

            I honestly don’t think that class should be taught in “graduate reading knowledge” format. I was OK in Graduate Reading Knowledge of Latin b/c I had the Roman alphabet and four years of Spanish behind me. Classical Greek just needed way more time per day than I could ever have spent — and that was when i was a grad student and theoretically had infinite amounts of time. Seriously, hats off to those who bathe in that particular stream.

          • obscura says:

            Yeah…I don’t know how people did that. I did undergrad and grad coursework in mostly Attic, but I’ve never been anywhere near facile reading level.

  3. Teuchter says:

    Why oh why didn’t I learn the language when my husband did years ago? Or at least try? 😦

  4. Teuchter says:

    We also had Greek neighbours at that time so I missed out on both counts! 😦

  5. Guylty says:

    Yay, that is cool – because it still leaves the possibility open that you might be in Europe again next year. If that is the case – and I EXPECT to be updated on further developments – I will not hesitate to fly anywhere on the European mainland, to meet you again. And who knows, maybe the AHA will have to reconvene, too?

    • wydville says:

      Well, this member of AHA will definitely be putting the dates in her diary! How exciting!

      btw, the scant Classical Greek I have is self-taught but, as some of you know, I can pretty much get by in the today variety; so although I would not be able to do an accurate translation, I can get the gist of the above. Even Greek kids have to learn/study Classical Greek and it’s probably the most hated subject on the curriculum.

      My son went to uni to do joint honours Greek and Latin; he dropped the Greek after a year and switched to French. He said the Greek was the most tortured and miserable subject he’d ever turned his mind to. And this from a guy whose talent is languages.

      Er… Obscura… stuffed tomatoes?? But! I think you do brilliantly!

  6. jholland says:

    Oh so very tempted but I doubt I could swing it for the length of that tour… I did pass the info along to my mom, who has been making noises about Greece since we returned, though. After all the talk about Crete, I love that he’s including that at the end. Now should there be some sort of AHA convention before or after… I wouldn’t rule that out. Especially if it was at Crete, where I’d like to get eyes on a fierce brand of shepherd. LOL

  7. Servetus says:

    Like today, he posted pix of Χριστόψωμο. I hate baking bread but for a minute there I was like, hmmm, do we have any yeast?

  8. Hariclea says:

    Looks tempting! If you do happen to get back across the water please give us a shout I’d love to bump along no matter how shortly!

Leave a Reply

