The Hydra and the HydRA

Show of hands…who knows what the Hydra is?

Source

Source

Sorry Armitage fans…not that Hydra.  Same underlying concept…different “universe.”

I’m talking about the original Hydra of Greek mythological fame (pictured above as envisioned in the 2014 film Hercules starring Dwayne Johnson – that’s right, The Rock – in the title role)  Like most of Greek mythology, there are a number of slightly differing tales of the Hydra, but they all seem to agree that it was a horrible serpent that lived in a swamp at Lerna and was ultimately killed by Hercules (Herakles) as one of his famous 12 labors.

As Hercules found out, the Hydra, a nine headed monster, was no pushover.  His usual simple brute force methods didn’t work on her (as usual, the great monster is female), since her best defense – in addition to her toxic cloud breath and fatally venomous blood – was that every time one of her heads was cut off, two more grew in its place.

I’ve been using this myth lately to sum up how I feel about the current state of my professional life.  Since I returned from Greece, it seems like everyday I figure out a solution to some thorny issue only to find out that up popped two more problems in the interim.  It’s maddening and exhausting at the same time – the undefeatable stream of minutia seems endless.

Then it occurred to me yesterday that I have another HydRA in my orbit…another thing that I just can’t keep up with…

berlin-station-1

A new television series running in Prime Time on my TV…

love-love-love

Love, Love, Love, running live off Broadway

live-tweeting

Live Tweeting?!?!?!  What the actual f….

*cough*    See what I mean?   HydRA indeed…how’s an already besieged Hercu-ME supposed to deal?!  I have a bunch of things that I want to blog about, but I don’t have time to do all of them right now, so I thought I might throw it out to the hive mind to help me prioritize…

1. The "structural" similarities of Daniel Miller and the Discobolus of Myron

1. The “structural” similarities of Daniel Miller and the Discobolus of Myron

 

2. "Go with a red lip Mom!" NYC fashion advice from offspring...

2. “You can’t go wrong with a red lip Mom!” NYC fashion advice from offspring…

What say you to a little poll?

8 comments on “The Hydra and the HydRA

  1. Servetus says:

    I’m saying “red lip” because it is potentially more timely.

  2. Perry says:

    I feel your pain.

  3. linnetmoss says:

    Travel will do that. It takes me weeks to get un-discombobulated and caught up. I voted for the red lip but I want to see both 🙂

  4. Hariclea says:

    Glad you’re getting a breather, the Hydra can wait, her and all 9 + heads. One of my favourite monsters in all Herculean tales 🙂 We’ll get back to her sometime 😉 Meanwhile red lippy always wins! 🙂

Leave a Reply

