Another “world” infiltrated Richard Armitage

My maiden voyage into the blogosphere was a guest post me + richard armitage titled World’s Collide almost three years ago to the day.  (Seriously…3 years ago?! Seems like yesterday!)  In a nutshell, I talked about how my interest in Richard Armitage had started to intersect with other areas or “worlds” in my life.

That trend shows no sign of abating.  Earlier this fall, I pointed out that I had deliberately allowed an Armitage Curriculum InfiltRAtion into a class (that turned out to be less than scintillating I’m afraid…try harder next time!).  More recently, I have marked a new world foRAyed….my craft world has recently become my cRAft world.

I think if I’d had a hot glue gun as a preteen, I might be a crafting giant today.  Alas, too impatient to wait for cold glue to dry, I tossed aside my rug hook and moved on to other pursuits.  However, a couple of decades, two children and multiple knee injuries later, I was in search of something new to occupy my idle hands (such things are dangerous you know). 

Necessity, the mother of invention, led me back down the path to crafting.  Of late, I like to wear scarves.  My bestie (she of “canned beaver” fame) turned me on to them.  The problem at hand was that I don’t like them to choke me, and I am apparently not very adept at the myriad ways to wrap them artfully about my swan like nape without them resembling a noose.  What I needed was some sort of brooch or slide to assist.  I shopped…I Googled…and then I Pinterested –

scarf ring

 

SHAZAM!  A craft was born

All I needed was a cool button and a key ring to thread it onto and I had a pretty new accessory.  I mentioned it to a friend and suddenly I was gifted with a coffee can full of vintage buttons of all varieties…

Current and future scarf rings...

Current and future scarf rings…

I now have a whole wardrobe of scarf slides for all occasions!  A related issue was what to do with the rest of the buttons…the regular, shankless variety of buttons that filled the coffee can.  Back to Google…”button crafts”  et voilà…

Homemade gift tags...

Homemade gift tags…

Last year I bought the blank tags at the office supply store – this fall I went whole hog and bought a punch.  Now I punch my own tags out of recycled file folders – I *know* right?!

Where does Richard Armitage appear in this plethora of buttons?  Well, having whet my crafting teeth, I was more than ready when the #RichieHolidaySwap was proposed on Twitter/tumblr , and off to the races thinking of something to make.  (and truthfully, I was just a little bit concerned since the recipient of my cRAft offering would be none other than Nancy, the maker of the most adorable Plushiescheck them out here

After a craft store recon mission worthy of John Porter, I had an idea:  a few downloads, a Pixlr edit here and there, some glue dots and Modge Podge later….

armitage magnets

Mini Magnets (each is a little over an inch high)

Another recent world collision – fellow Armitage fan on campus – was the recipient of the prototype model (a sulking Sir Guy) and pronounced that he was “like a Victorian miniature always keeping his eye on her,” from his discreet post on her desk lamp.

So there you have it…the latest Armitage World Incursion…cRAfitage you might say!  (Paenitet me paenitet, non)

Craft on ArmitageWorld!

27 comments on “Another “world” infiltrated Richard Armitage

  1. jholland says:

    Oh, they’re lovely! I’m sure Nancy will be delighted. Happy cRAfting! =) It’s addictive. Love your button scarf slides, too… I have one “go to” easy scarf knot that looks ok, but have never mastered the art of the scarf. I never thought about using a scarf tie… (I’m a bit fashion-challenged!) And the gift tags are super cute.

    • obscura says:

      She posted them on Twitter Sunday – (I didn’t want to give away the surprise) The swap was great fun – there’s another in the works for Valentine’s Day 🙂

      It’s so funny – I have a ton of them now, so I put them out at a craft fair that we had a church. I even put a few on demo scarves. Peopled stopped and looked, ooh’d and aah’d and bought…ZERO. Fellow crafters are total idea thieves! 😀 (if you see one in there that you like, let me know…I’ve been known to gift them 😉 )

  2. jazzbaby1 says:

    Those are beautiful!

  3. Teuchter says:

    You are sooo talented! Now I’m having one of those *why didn’t I think of that?* moments. I especially love the Mini Magnets! 🙂 I wonder why???

    • obscura says:

      *blushing* Thanks 🙂 I have found that crafting helps me redirect nervous energy – which is a HUGE boon to everyone around me! 😉

      I like them a lot too…I have a very ugly gunmetal grey metal filing cabinet in my office that is in desperate need of adornment – I see another trip to the craft store in my near future!

  4. Guylty says:

    Your mini magnets are absolutely brilliant. That is some mega-tiny work there – and I know how fiddly that is. They look really cool, and are such a great idea! Discreet and fun.
    Hehe, and nice scarf rings, too!
    Crafting is so much fun, I agree. It really feels good to make something with your hands – especially for people whose work is otherwise intangible. I look forward to future projects from the Ancient Armitage workbench!

    • obscura says:

      I can’t work on stuff as often as I’d like, but I’m currently trying to master making jewelry from lake glass and stones. As you say…fiddly!

      And yes – to have some tangible output is great when most of ones time is spent on “thinky” activity.

  5. Esther says:

    Nice! Well done on both the scarf rings and the magnets!! I always admire crafty people as I have no patience whatsoever for any kind of crafting…

  6. linnetmoss says:

    These are fabulous! I would love to run my hands through all those vintage buttons. And the tiny magnets are perfect little keepsakes!

    • obscura says:

      Thank you 🙂

      The buttons are really an addictive thing.. They came to from a friend who’s in her early 60’s and they cam

    • obscura says:

      Oops…buttons : came to me from an older friend and came to her from her grandmother. people who look at the design and think “I could do that.” Absolutely, anybody could, it’s really simple, but now try to find some of these amazing buttons to do it with. It’s all in the buttons in the end.

  7. Perry says:

    RA Charity Auction? I covet a scarf slide.

  8. Perry says:

    Since you ask, one of the bone-looking ones. (You have two of those). Last year I made home made gift tags from the paint chip samples one can get at house paint stores. Depending on the brand, they come in a variety of shapes and sizes.

  9. Widoedm53 says:

    I love the idea of repurposing vintage items and your scarf rings are lovely. Great for someone like me who is scarf tying challenged. The mini magnets may be tiny but they are extremely attRActive!
    They have a bit of a vintage look to them as well. Nice work 😍

    • obscura says:

      Welcome – thanks for commenting!!

      I really like the kind of “antiqued” finished on the frames…I believe that they are supposed to be pendants, but they worked out very well as magnets.

      I just LOVE the vintage buttons (fascination with the past and all 🙂 ) I have also found that I can make them in a number of size rings to use with very fine or more bulky scarves.

  10. zan, O1C says:

    So pretty!
    And the scarf slides and homemade gift tags are quite nice, too. 😉

  11. Hariclea says:

    They’re gorrrgeous and long may crafting inspiration live on ☺love the scarf buttons and the magnets and tags so pretty I thought they were decorations!

Leave a Reply

