Virtutes Romanae tabulae colligendae sunt…they really must!

Work, work, work... Source

Work, work, work…
Source

This image jumped right into my head when I recognized that I seem to be in a mood to collate, calculate, consolidate and other c-ate verbs!  I might as well let the spirit move me to do a little record keeping around here.  After all, records must be kept!

Quite a while ago, I started a recurring series of posts on the Virtutes Romanae (Roman Virtues) and today, not for the first time, I noticed that I have to keep going back to look what virtutes I’ve already covered.  For my own sanity, I decided to collate the list here.  This will also come in handy for anyone who’s recently joined the party…since I never bothered to Categorize anything along the way, they are all linked here – live and learn.

Auctoritas

Comitas

Clementia

Dignitas

Firmitas

Frugalitas

Gravitas

Honestas

Humanitas

Industria

Pietas

Prudentia

Salubritas

Severitas

Veritas

My brief accounting shows that I’m only about half way through the list of Roman Virtues…and now I remember why.  Seems I have exhausted the most straight forward and relatively easy to illustrate qualities from the list.  Several of the remaining are a bit more esoteric, and a bit more difficult to connect to the often diffident Richard Armitage with any certainty.   Sounds like a challenge to me!

Few can resist the double dog dare!

Few can resist the enticement of the double dog dare!

Well, I’ve never been one to walk way from a dare, so I shall apply myself in a renewed effort to make virtutes connections.  I’m guessing that with a good number of new projects debuting in coming months, Richard Armitage will provide me with some excellent compaRAnda!

6 comments on “Virtutes Romanae tabulae colligendae sunt…they really must!

  1. Guylty says:

    Well, it means that there is plenty of stuff to look forward to. Take your time – there’s is no deadline.

  2. I so enjoy your informative and analytical writings, Obscura! Looking forward to your next post! Cheers! Grati ;->

  3. linnetmoss says:

    I see plenty of auctoritas in Mr. Thornton, and what woman wouldn’t want to strip him of his… dignitas?

  4. Esther says:

    i just KNOW that you can do this! Already looking forward to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

