I’m so excited!!!!

…and surprisingly, it has very little to do with Richard Armitage,

happy-cartoon-smiling-frog-jumping-excited-vector-91000038

but I still can’t hide it (apologies for the obvious Pointer Sisters nod).  

Some of you may remember that way back, I’d wondered if anyone might be interested in coming along if I were to arrange a tour to Greece.  Well, TWO YEARS LATER!!  I’m elated to report that I am organizing an upcoming tour through my university that I’m also offering up to all of my friends.  Have a look at one of my new hobbies…brochure writing:

greece 2

greece 1

We’ll spend September 9 – 18th, 2016  (September 8 is a travel day for those coming from the US) beginning in Athens and then traveling to a variety of places around the large peninsula of the Peloponnese…The Island of Pelops.  History, archaeology, culture, cuisine and more.  September is a fabulous time to be in Greece…the temperature is milder than the summer, but the water is still warm, the summer crowds have tapered and the pace is leisurely.  This tour is being marketed toward our Alumni and non traditional adult student population, and I’ve designed it to have a more leisurely pace than the cultural marathon I take the traditional students on 🙂  For those who are interested, but not originating from the US, you can arrange your own airfare and meet me in Athens.  (I can provide the cost for the land portion of the tour only)

If anyone is interested in joining in, let me know via the contact form below, and I can share more of the details… (just overwrite my info with yours in the boxes…I’m not sure why it came up like that…)

The past year or so has been incredibly challenging (I’ve tried to spare you all the bulk of the gory details along the way) so this trip has become something of a lifeline…I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to it, or how pleased I am at the prospect of perhaps meeting some of my Armitageworld friends at the same time…A good times double dip!

acropolis

Καλό ταξίδι Armitageworld!!

23 comments on “I’m so excited!!!!

  1. […] Interested in a pleasurable tour from a historical and cultural expert? Check out Obscura’s blog for details. […]

  2. Servetus says:

    Καλό ταξίδι!

  3. jholland says:

    Wow! Sounds absolutely amazing!

    • obscura says:

      I have an absolutely great travel agent based in Crete who customizes the tour for me and takes us to the greatest places! (And he’s a foodie, so the meals are amazing too.)

  4. katie70 says:

    This sounds like so much fun. It is just the wrong time of year for me.

  5. Perry says:

    No one would be better at this than you. Not to mention an inside track on all those stunning bodies in full nude – sculptures, I mean.

  6. wydville says:

    Know what? I may just try and meet you out there. Difficult time of year: Daughter just going back to school; work still ultra busy and a big wedding on 17th but even if it’s just to spend 3/4 days …. I’d absolutely love it!

  7. Hariclea says:

    Ohh, you are wicked, you are! This sounds sooo tempting! sounds like all my favourite places in one , plus food places i haven’t been too 😉 I assume you are also hitting Delphi and Epidavros?
    are you seeing Thessaloniki? and Vergina? sigh…. so many amazing places 🙂

    • obscura says:

      I’ve taken tours to the north… as far as Meteora and Vergina, but it is a lot of driving to pack into a ten day trip…this time we’re staying in the south. I had to sacrifice Delphi, but we’re doing both Epidauros and Olympia (as well as Mycenae, Pylos, Monemvasia, Mystras…etc.

  8. Guylty says:

    Absolutely fab! I can’t wait to see Greece for myself.

  9. KarinO says:

    Just bear in mind that thousands of refugees arrive in Greece right now. Kos and Lesbos are very crowded.

    • obscura says:

      Thanks for commenting Karen. Yes, both the economic situation and the flow of refugees from Turkey were/are considerations. The economy seems to be sorting itself in a way that will no doubt mean continued struggle for the Greek people, but tourist spending only helps that.

      For those who maybe aren’t terribly familiar with Aegean geography, Kos and Lesbos are islands in the Eastern Mediterranean, close to the Turkish/Syrian coast, which have seen a huge upswing in refugee arrivals in past months as Turkey has declared itself maxed on its ability to help. Most of the people are fleeing from hostile environs in Syria and Afghanistan and are seeking transport to Athens to make their way further north into Europe. The current situation is unlikely to have much impact on travel in the Peloponnese.

      Of course, situations can always change, which is why I strongly recommend that all participants purchase travel insurance.

  10. Esther says:

    Oh my, this sounds absolutely wonderful! I would love to do this and I suspect my husband would enjoy it too! But September is never good for us, as we take our time off during the kids’ school holidays, so there’s no money/time left to travel in September… 😦 Maybe one day, when the kids have flown the nest…

  11. Rafaella says:

    Sounds wonderful! September is a good time for me and haven’t booked next years holiday yet.

  12. […] it happens, the travel agent I’m using to book the airfare for the 2016 tour to Greece recently negotiated better group fare terms with the various airlines which means that I’ve […]

  13. […] told you about the details here and here, and I bring it up again to let anyone who might have been on the fence in December, or whi is just […]

Leave a Reply

