Trains, Planes & Automobiles (as well as assorted other motorized conveyances.)

image

I think a Conestoga wagon is about the only wheeled vehicle I will not have been on by the time we reach Oregon this evening.  Due to the wonders of modern technology, I’m blogging from my smartphone in the WIFI equipped comfort of a shuttle bus on the way to Chicago O’Hare.  We are making our way to Cannon Beach in Oregon for my biennial family reunion, so I may be a bit out of touch the next few days.

I have a funny (but true) story before I get to the airport.  Last fall, in addition to my regular teaching gig, I accepted a half time administrative staff position at my university.  I like the work a lot…I like the opportunity of advocating for myself and other contingent faculty, and I like the creative problem solving I’m asked to do. 

I was in the midst of some problem solving…in this case a gnarly staffing issue in our Communications Department..when something completely unexpected happened.  I was talking with a COM colleague about a class on writing for media came up…this segued to social media writing which resulted in my mentioning that I write a blog.  When I confessed that it was a fan blog, the inevitable question was :  Who??
This is where it gets good!!

I say, “Richard Armitage.”

She…I’ll call her Valerie…says:

image

Seriously…she squee’d out loud right there in her office…it was GREAT!!

From there I heard, “North and South…Thornton is so bad…then so good!  Have you seen Robin Hood?  One word : Leather!!”

LOL!  It turns out, there’s been a sister RA fan right under my nose and I didn’t even know it.  I think this could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship! 

Happy Trails Armitageworld!

6 comments on “Trains, Planes & Automobiles (as well as assorted other motorized conveyances.)

  1. Guylty says:

    Well, think of yourself as a trailblazer, heading West. At the end of it will be a lovely family weekend, hopefully some sun, and lots of getting away from it all.
    As for the sister-in-RA at work – yay, how cool is that? Well, bring her into the fold. Does she need a badge? I have a new stash…

    • obscura says:

      We’ll see…still sitting at the gate waiting while they load catering (plane was sitting at the gate for at least an hour before we boarded) *sigh*

  2. jholland says:

    That IS fantastic! Is she watching Hannibal, I wonder? You two will forevermore have a topic to converse about. How cool. Hope the vacation is fun. I love Oregon. Sigh. Honeymooned there.

  3. That is awesome! I wish I could find a local RA fan. Have a great vacation 🙂

  4. katie70 says:

    Enjoy your family reunion this week. We will be heading to Mr. 70’s family reunion this weekend but not as far just a car ride to Chicago this time around. How great that you have found another RA fan so close to you, so maybe there is more than a couple RA fans in the state.

  5. Hariclea says:

    How cool! i am, still waiting for one of the many who ask about the desktop pic on my PC to actually recognise him.. sigh!
    Enjoy the family reunion and hope no more travel troubles 🙂

Leave a Reply

