Inter alia…Second verse same as the first…

Vertigo again…this time bad enough that I’m currently residing overnight at the hospital.  I’m much better than I was two hours ago, but hope that the room is not still moving in the morning…

11 comments on “Inter alia…Second verse same as the first…

  1. fedoralady says:

    Oh man, I am so sorry. I experienced vertigo for the first time after that accident that busted my tailbone. Had several episodes. The guest bedroom was spinning . . . not a good feeling at all. I hope things improve greatly very soon. *hugs*

  2. Herba says:

    I am sorry to hear that. Get well soon!!!

  3. linnetmoss says:

    As a former sufferer, I sympathize. Hope you feel better soon!

  4. Hariclea says:

    oh hon, big hug! I know exactly how you feel! I’ve had them ever since i was a small girl, luckily incidents have becomes less as i age but 1x, 2x a year i still wake up with the room spinning with me. In fact it spins even laying still in bed. All i can recommend and the only thing that doctors could recommend as well is lie down and try an sleep it off and you should be as good as new by tomorrow. The other thing i found helpful was drinking chilled sparkly drinks, you know cans of coke or fanta or such stuff. it provided minimal relief, big hug! Hope you are better very soon!

  5. Sending supportive thoughts your way and toward your doctors for them to get to the bottom of the issue.

  6. judiang says:

    Oh dear. Get better soon!

  7. Esther says:

    Oooh, doesn’t sound good…. Feel better soon!

  8. Perry says:

    Home it subsides soon. Meanwhile, rest up.

  9. jholland says:

    Uggh… I had vertigo on and off for several weeks years ago and it was not fun. Never did figure out what caused it, and it did go away after a few weeks. I still sometimes am glad for it, because one of the diagnostic rule-outs was pregnancy (this was before we had kids and the idea of having kids was on the back burner), so we went out and got a test, just in case, and though the test was negative, we both realized we were a little disappointed that we didn’t have a surprise pregnancy, and when we talked about it and realized we both felt the same way, we decided it was time to get busy. 10 mos later, The Young Love arrived! I do hope your vertico resolves itself soon or a cause reveals itself. Not a fun way to spend 4th of July weekend! Get well soon!

  10. I can empathize with you – I hate when I experience vertigo! I hope they figure out what is causing it and I hope you feel better soon!

    They haven’t figured out a cause in my case. I have an emergency supply of Meclizine for the worst episodes. One time they did a thing where they turned my head different ways for a specific amount of time. I can’t remember what they called it. Lot of help I am 🙂

  11. obscura says:

    Thanks so much for all of the supportive thoughts! It’s amazing to me how many people have vertigo stories, yet how little many medical professionals seem to know about it….one nurse was surprised by the vomitting. Really? Try this…ride the Tilt-o-Whirl continuously for 15-30 minutes and see if you can avoid the whole throwing up thing! In any case, I discharged late Monday afternoon. (I was ready to go around 8am, but apparently that 15 second visit by the hospitalist on rounds at 2:45 was imperative to my long term health.)

    I am feeling much better, but no closer to understanding why it hits me out of the blue. I did learn that for me, Ativan works much better than meclazine at alleviating the spinning. I think I may need to carry a small supply the way my mom carries her nitro tabs around.

    I also learned that I am not pregnant, not diabetic (I told you that mom!), not iron or potassium deficient, my electrolytes are fine, etcetera…in sum, I’m pretty health for a person who was laid out in a hospital for hours with a cardboard bucket in reach.

    Onward and upward…

Leave a Reply

