Vexatious Velleity

Blog introspection challenge question two:  “What is the significance of your blog’s name?”

Ancient Armitage?  Well, it’s not very complicated…beyond the obvious, I seem prone to a certain vexatious velleity, a trying tendency, a perhaps provoking proclivity for annoying alliteration:

Ancient Armitage it is!

18 comments on “Vexatious Velleity

  1. Servetus says:

    And I thought it was because you were originally planning to blog about the other Richard and got mixed up.

  2. Guylty says:

    Short but sweet. And I like alliteration, too.

    • obscura says:

      🙂 Once you go down the alliteration trail, it’s hard to stop…diffculty desisting?

      • Servetus says:

        I always thought the point wasn’t “no alliteration ever” but “judicious use of alliteration.” That said, when someone does it three times in a row, I also think it’s hilarious and assume that is part of the effect intended by the author 🙂

        • obscura says:

          I’d agree…alliteration sophrosyne. It’s like a vocabulary game for me…can I come up with an alliterative pair without using a thesaurus? (I like to think it keeps my brain from becoming mush 🙂 )

      • Guylty says:

        Hehe, continue continuously. I am all ears and eyes.

  3. linnetmoss says:

    You taught me a new word!

  4. Perry says:

    I’m with you on the unholy love of alliteration. Agent Armitage *would* be a great title or theme blog. It could apply to Lucas North, stretching it, Guy of Gisborne, to John Porter, possibly the new “Clearance,” Maybe Raymond De Merville – a different definition, as in agent of change, could include John Proctor AND, there’s a whole group of Armitage fans who think of themselves as *his* agent. I’m becoming inspired.

  5. Hariclea says:

    Like it too 🙂 but you shouls copyright Agent A quickly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

