et alia: Forgotten Treasures

Today while I was in my office excavating through the remains of January – May, I “unearthed” visual proof of why, despite all my angst, I love my job…

Best Student Labeled Map of Roman Italy EVER!!!

Best Student Labeled Map of Roman Italy EVER!!!

I’ve had this for at least five years, and ever time it re-emerges it makes me smile and remember why I do what I do.  May we all have these little reminders more often!!  (I especially love the rivers…a different kind of vessel for each…who says geography and history stifle creativity?)

13 comments on “et alia: Forgotten Treasures

  1. linnetmoss says:

    You’re right–it’s a treasure! I love the little compass, and the Sponge Bob 🙂

  2. Guylty says:

    This is sweet. Was it part of an exam, or course-work? It’s hard to resist the temptation of awarding extra points for that…

  3. Hariclea says:

    this is brilliant 🙂 gotta love it when people can be creative like that about historical detail 🙂 wish they would teach history in school more with these kind of tools or assignments..

    • obscura says:

      I love a carefully stippled and cross hatched map as much as the next cartography dork, but I definitely appreciate the creative verve of this one…it was a complete surprise when it came in…I should maybe show to future classes to encourage them to think outside the box.

Leave a Reply

