et alia: gRAss

image

This image is like a giant scratch and sniff.  My whole ride home today all I could smell was fresh tilled earth and newly cut grass – a sign that spring is here to stay. 

Decidedly better smelling than the grass scent that filled the campus elevator I rode in today.  I think I caught a bit of a contact buzz from the residual. Either that or the Black Death got a lot funnier since the last time I taught it!

Viva LA last week of the semester!

12 comments on “et alia: gRAss

  1. jholland says:

    Of all the topics, too. LOL

    • obscura says:

      honestly, the look on their faces when I talk about fleas, boils and flagellents never fails…and right before lunch too! (don’t judge – my pleasures are few and far between 😉 )

  2. Guylty says:

    And isn’t that the most wonderful moment, when you realize that the dark season is over, and it’s going to be lighter and lighter and warmer and warmer every day from now on, with the promise of summer not far away??? I had a couple of days like that recently, too, where it felt like spring-time. (Funnily enough, in Ireland the 1st of May is already considered the beginning of summer… no sign of that one, though – decidedly too cold!!!)
    As for grass in the elevator – it wasn’t another spelling mistake by the same student??? Grease, grass, Greece – all very similar. (There must be a connection…)

    • obscura says:

      I love this time of year…before the humidity sets in…some time after the solstice when “Summer” actually begins.

      That elevator episode…who knows…the girl who got off before I got in looked plenty baked to mistake Grease for grass for Greece though!

    • obscura says:

      Speaking of Greece…some biggish news – see my email…

  3. Esther says:

    Oh, you just made me almost spit my drink at the laptop screen. LOL!!!

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Beautiful post. Yes, all of us in the northern hemisphere are smiling 🙂 And those of us who teach have broad grins on our faces.

  5. It’s really true what they say about memory and smell being so strongly linked. I look at this photo and smell nothing, because the desert has given me no such associations. Interesting stuff!

  6. Servetus says:

    Miss home.

  7. Hariclea says:

    yes, fresh cut grass… right up there with warmed towels!
    you work in a campus, grass smell should be abundant ;-)))

Leave a Reply

