“A book is a dream you hold in your hand.”

-Neil Gaiman

I couldn’t agree more, which is one reason that I absolutely LOVE the SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge.  Books have always been a big part of my life.  I’ve been an avid reader since childhood and I chose a profession that can be decidedly bookish in nature.  My bookshelves overfloweth!  Not surprisingly, my kids also have tons of books…the one thing that I almost never refuse to purchase when asked.  Each of them has a mini library ranging from childhood favorite picture books to age appropriate (and inappropriate – hard to find age appropriate books for a nine year old who reads at the high school level – MiniMe is currently reading Divergent) books of both the fiction and non-fiction variety.

In addition to being active readers, both of my kids are emergent writers with huge imaginations.  It’s no wonder that the thought of children without access to books is heartbreaking to me.  For kids whose real lives are full of far too many, far too adult realities, a book really can be a dream.  A paperback means to escape from that reality and immerse in imagination for awhile.  The SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge helps make this possible.  My donations this year are a childhood favorite and a slightly sinister selection of award winners which I dropped off this week.

Here’s a really cool bonus that I stumbled on last year…a way to get “more bang” for your donated books:

halfpintlibrary

From March 1-31, Half Price Books (which has locations in several US states) will match donations of children’s titles book for book.  The Half Pint Library Book Drive culminates in Giveaway Events held in the month of April where the books are given to schools and non-profit organizations.  It’s a great event that puts books into the hands of children who might not otherwise have them.  MiniMe had the day off of school on Monday (for some undetermined reason) so we (MiniMe, sleepover buddy and me) headed off to drop off our books.  My selections plus a few more that MiniMe and Showbiz parted with, added up to 20 books…which became 40 books when we placed them into the donation bin.  It’s a good feeling for sure!  The links will take you to more information about the drive.  If you are close to a Half Price Books location, it’s definitely worth taking a look.

I also really dig their mascot…what is that?  A bookworm?!

One comment on ““A book is a dream you hold in your hand.”

  1. Hariclea says:

    love the initiative and the additional one you found and that is one cute bookworm!! 🙂 i can’t imagine growing up without books 🙂 U have picked one of mine , have to find a place to buy it from and take to local library which does not have a copy of this. I know i am very much late with my idea but i think it doesn’t matter so i’ll get round to it when work lets me breath again 🙂

Leave a Reply

