Richard Armitage: ‘I’ve just tipped over the totty totaliser.’

So, think what you will of the Ed Potton article in The Sunday Times (thanks to RAUS on Facebook for the text) but that right there is some absolutely awesome alliteration Armitage!

Jeez...who is this geezer?! Richard Armitage for Daman Mag by Mitchell Nguyen Mc Cormack Source

Jeez…who is this geezer?!
Richard Armitage for DAMAN Mag by Mitchell Nguyen Mc Cormack
Source

I highly doubt that Richard Armitage is unaware that he is *moderately* attractive 😉 but rather than sounding like a completely self absorbed tool by replying “yeah, I know, I’m a stone cold fox,” he generally gives a modest shrug off to questions about his physical appeal.    This is nothing new, he’s been doing it forever.   The age based qualifier is something kind of new though and it stuck me as rather funny since 43 is hardly qualified for geezerdom.

This whole topic reminded me vividly of a list my friends and I had as twenty year old college students two decades ago…a compilation of singers, actors and other celebs we classified as 40 and F*#kable.  A few of the front runners in 1991?

Sean Connery

Sean Connery

image

Harrison Ford

Rutger Hauer

Rutger Hauer

Sting

Sting

And so on.  Considering that Sean Connery was in his early 60’s at the time we 20’s compiled our short list, I’d say that Richard Armitage’s “totty-ness” is fairly secure for a good while.

I do have to admit something though…

Richard Armitage for Daman Mag by Mitchell Nguyen Mc Cormack Source

Richard Armitage for DAMAN Mag by Mitchell Nguyen Mc Cormack
Source

It is *totally* disconcerting that the new object of my affections is so wholly age appropriate!  Hmph!

 

 

28 comments on “Richard Armitage: ‘I’ve just tipped over the totty totaliser.’

  1. ArmitageFan says:

    Have to say I totally agree with your list. Rutger Hauer and Sean Connery were tops for me when I was 20. 🙂

  2. Servetus says:

    There is truly a different quality to having someone roughly my own age as a crush — I feel more sympathy for him or something? Like I understand where he is in his life better? I’ve never been especially worried about my books but it has been interesting to watch my body age (to say the least).

    • obscura says:

      Interesting is putting it mildly! Although maybe I’m just a smidge raw…in cleaning my room this weekend, I ran across a copy of a catalog I modeled for in grad school. My daughter caught a glimpse of it and said, “wow Mom, you *used* to be hot!” Um, thanks for the backhanded compliment dear! 🙂

  3. I love the fact that he’s younger than me! Younger men…so much more…flexible. 🙂

  4. boudicca61 says:

    An older friend of mine told me today that I seem to be going through what we classify as “mid-life crisis.” Since Richard and I are the same age, I wonder if perhaps he isn’t going through a small bit of that himself? I shall be looking for him to reaffirm his youth and appeal by going out and getting a Lamborghini and a hot young thing on his arm. 😛

  5. jazzbaby1 says:

    Rutger Hauer. *thud*

  6. Servetus says:

    I’d probably have put Alexander Godunov on my list — he was roughly 40 in 1989, no? — blond was not usually my type but he certainly was cute.

  7. Definitely love men in their 40’s! They have seasoning, yet presumably they also have … vigor and stamina. Of course, Richard Armitage at 43 years is unparalelled, but Gerard Butler at 45 years old is also a fave. And let us not forget the tigers in their 50’s–Graham McTavish at 53 years old is certainly a candidate. Purrrr!

    • obscura says:

      When I was twenty, men my own age seemed to try too hard…now that I’m not twenty, I spend so much time supervising twenty something men, that I don’t really see them any other way. I’ll take a seasoned, vintage model any day 🙂

  8. What Gratiana said. 🙂

  9. linnetmoss says:

    Agree with Gratiana and Crystal, the 40s are the most delicious age. But as a fan of a Beautiful Man in his 60s, I can say with confidence that Richard is in no danger of losing his Totty status 🙂

    • I so second that with Linnet. Richard will grow to be a silver fox far into his years, even if he chooses to dye it.

      • boudicca61 says:

        Being married to a man 20 years older than I am has rarely been a hardship. He’s still hot, maybe even more than he was at 41, when we married. Wasn’t into men my own age group, even when I was a teen. I like my men like I like my cars- give me a vintage, classic one any day. Richard fits that bill nicely. He seems to be aging just fine, and frankly, I prefer him now over his younger days, too.

Leave a Reply

