inter alia: A Time to be Thankful

2014 has been a year of personal highs and lows, but as we celebrate Thanksgiving here in the US, I’m thankful for all of the blessings that have come my way…many of them from Armitageworld.

image

I spent last night in the kitchen making my contribution to the feast being hosted at my cousin’s home this year.  We each received an assignment…mine was one pumpkin and one pecan pie and cranberries.  I tried my hand at fresh cranberry sauce (so easy) but am bringing a can for those who just can’t stand the chunks. (Chunk oppressors are hiding *everywhere*)

As I go to experience the holiday with my extended family, I wish you all a great day.  Whether you are a fellow American celebrating Thanksgiving, or a fellow earthling celebrating Thursday…I’m guessing we can each find something to be thankful for.

Peace and Love to all!

30 comments on “inter alia: A Time to be Thankful

  1. Servetus says:

    Jellied or chunky, it’s all good. E pluribus unum and wow, do we have a lot to be thankful for. I’m thankful for your presence in my life the last few years!

    • obscura says:

      I am not much of a cranfan in jellied variety, but I don’t discriminate πŸ˜‰

      That is such a lovely thing to say…I never seem to think to say these things, but be assured, I certainly feel them too!

      • Servetus says:

        I admit that my personal favorite is relish made with raw cranberries and oranges / orange zest. One of my fellow refugees from TX friends told me she’s been putting jalapeΓ±os in hers lately and it’s fantastic.

        Hugs.

        • obscura says:

          Ohhhh..the tang, sweet, the spicy. I like it ( now I need to stop and retrieve a jar of sweet and spicy pickles to bring.)

          • Servetus says:

            mmm, you just made not being there unbearable. Your homemade pickles — fresh vegetables, your own special pickling solution — and I know how hard your dad worked to get those cucumbers.

  2. Jane Miller says:

    I am thankful for finding you and all these wonderful wellwishers fans ,and ladies in facebook land that I never knew existed till I “fell ” for a certain gentleman , .. THANKYOU xx

  3. I made fresh cranberry sauce for the first time last year. It was very easy and I liked it much better than the canned πŸ™‚

    Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you have a lovely day. Ups and downs, as you say, but still a lot to be grateful for. And my sister told me not to bring anything! She insisted πŸ˜€

    • obscura says:

      It was really easy…although, I wasn’t quite prepared for how actively those cranberries pop open when they hit the hot water! I added a few blueberries…it’s really good. (I think if there is any left I’m going to make milkshakes with it!

  4. guylty says:

    Happy Thanksgiving – a wonderful family occasion. Hope you will all have a good time!

  5. I want to add to my earlier remark. I’m not the type of person who normally tries to get out of bringing anything. We didn’t know until yesterday if my son would be up to going. I was trying to make light of the situation but of course you would have no way of knowing that. It is actually a kindness that my sister is doing for me. She was willing to wait until the day before to know if we would be able to come.

    I like Thanksgiving because there are no gifts and no huge expense. I’ve spent it with this particular sister almost every year of my life. She used to live in Michigan and we would travel there. Now she’s only 40 minutes away!

  6. I’m thankful that there is someone else out there who shares a fascination with both ancient antiquities and also Richard Armitage, and who blogs about it so informatively, gracefully, and humorously, and that I ever discovered this person.

    I’m thankful for you.

    Happy Thanksgiving, obscura. πŸ™‚

    (Also don’t forget the contingent of flat-out cranberry sauce haters. We’re here, and we know the rest of you haven’t actually “forgotten” how much we hate the stuff when you push it on us just one more time.:P )

  7. Hariclea says:

    Have a loving and peaceful Thanksgiving! pies and sauce look scrumptious! πŸ™‚ We don’t do Thanksgiving here but that is no reason not to think of things to be thankful for and this has been a generous year in many ways πŸ™‚ it will end richer than it began πŸ™‚

    • obscura says:

      Rich indeed – in sentiment if not always in ca$h πŸ˜‰

      Thanks to the hostess and her Paul Bunyan sized pie, I came home with my pumpkin pie uncut – my hubs will bring it across the street to the neighbor who’s wife suffered a severe heart attack a few weeks ago and is still in a rehab center recovering. (I’m thankful for the gift of our relatively good health too!)

  8. katie70 says:

    Your pies look great. I have been making cranberry sauce for years and yes I get the chucky dislike, or in my case way to thin sauce. This year I made mine with maple syrup and it was very good. Trying to use less of the white stuff: sugar.

    • obscura says:

      Yummy…putting that in my recipe-o-dex for next year. (BTW – my pies are cheaters to the extent that I don’t make the crust…I have never managed spectacular pie crust, and if one can’t do better than “meh”, frozen is perfect πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

