Like the generations of leaves…

homer veterans day

Today is the eleventh day of the eleventh month.  On the eleventh hour of this day in 1918 the armistice ending hostilities on the Western Front in World War I was signed.  Since then, November 11th has been designated by some as a day to commemorate the service of military veterans (Remembrance Day in the UK, Veteran’s Day in the US).

However much I wish and hope for lasting peace in the world, I will always acknowledge the service of veterans.  Whether they were compelled to serve, or volunteered, whether they served at home or abroad, they were and are real people who lived real lives and who made real sacrifices, so I remember them…my Dad, my uncles George, Jerome, Jack, Tom, Bob, Steve, John, George, Bob and Jim, my cousins Barbara, Greg and Lisa and a host of others whose names I will never know.

poppy

4 comments on “Like the generations of leaves…

  1. Servetus says:

    I can see we were having more or less the same thoughts on 11/11 at 11 o’clock.

  2. linnetmoss says:

    Beautiful quote, one of my favorites.

  3. Leigh says:

    Roll call: JA, RAF; JES, Commandos; JMB, MI6; JHW, U.S. Infantry; EAA, U.S. Marines; JB, WAC; MH, U.S. Navy. You are not forgotten, not while I live.

Leave a Reply

