inter alia: Winds of Change are Blowin’

Something big happened for me today – not much to do with Richard Armitage, but for the ripples.  I’ve been pretty tight lipped about it because I guess I’m more than a little bit superstitious, but I interviewed for a new position at my university last week and today I was offered the job.  It’s only a 1/2 time job, but I’m really, really excited about it for a lot of reasons.

1.  It is a challenging new position, but it will allow me to continue to teach – just at a less inhuman pace.  This could be a GREAT thing for me as a professor.

2.  The added income will allow me to worry less about providing financially for raising my children and spend more time enjoying them.  This could be a GREAT thing for me as a mother.

3.  The added structure will allow me to gain back some of the brain space that I’ve been craving for so long.  This could be a GREAT thing for me as a writer and a blogger

More time to blog...brace yourself sir!  ;)

Hmmm, more brain space to blog?  Brace yourself sir! 😉

 

25 comments on “inter alia: Winds of Change are Blowin’

  1. Servetus says:

    Biggest hugs ever. And shame that universities make teaching an insecure profession. But I think this will be just as much a true improvement in your life as you write.

  2. jazzbaby1 says:

    *Tosses confetti* YAAAAAAAAAYYYY!

  3. Perry says:

    Mazel tov. Something just for you, but it helps everybody. It was time.

  4. katie70 says:

    Congrats to you. By your title here was me thinking you where talking about the weather, the winds are changing sadly to winter. We have been dumped on and more to come.

  5. judiang says:

    Congrats! So glad you’ve found something that will enrich your life more. 🙂

    • obscura says:

      It is a fairly small thing that may well have potentially big ripples…it was a sort of serendipitous event, a job that would seem to be tailor made for me and my situation, and I just happened across it since advertising is about nil…fate maybe – the Greeks called it Moira 🙂

  6. This is wonderful! I’m so glad that the planets have aligned for you! Love & Hugs!

  7. obscura says:

    Thanks!! Me too…I am a big believer in the notion of things happening for a reason 🙂

  8. jollytr says:

    Fantastic! What a wonderful new direction. Congratulations 😀

  9. Teuchter says:

    Congratulations! Great news and even more time for blogging to boot! Cheers!!!

  10. Leigh says:

    Congratulations! Thrilled that you have this opportunity for more balance.

    • obscura says:

      Thanks! You know, the timing is really kind of apt – I’m finishing a unit that is heavy on cross cultural philosophies, and I was just underscoring the emphasis placed on balance by philosophers like Aristotle, Lao Tzu and Buddha…funny how that resonates 🙂

  11. linnetmoss says:

    Sounds ideal! Good for you 🙂

  12. Hariclea says:

    Sounds very very good with loads of positives on personal and professional level 🙂 Congratulations, happy for you!

  13. guylty says:

    Dammit. This was about the only post I didn’t catch up on after my short absence. Very belated congratulations to you, Obscura. It all sounds great. Of course I am only interested in the fact that you may have more brainspace for writing… Please pass on my thanks to your department heads *ggg*

Leave a Reply

