OT: Thank G-d for small favors…

HUGE day for me (and for the whole of the Obscurae really) this past Sunday.  After 18 months, my church successfully voted in a new pastor. (In the UCC, we make an offer…the candidate accepts it contingent upon congregational vote, so it really was in our hands)  Not a moment too soon as far as I’m concerned.  I love this church…I was raised in it…my mom was raised in it…my kids have been raised in it, but the past year, especially the last month, has tested my mettle, as the lay leadership (Lay leader?  Me?!  Yeah, I have no idea how the H#$L that happened either!!) has been called to do more and more. I was seriously close to being “churched out.”  I realized last Thursday – at the beginning of a monster weekend of activities – that the only time I have vertigo attacks anymore is when I’m at church or discussing church business.  Yeah…not good.

I met our new Pastor at about 8:30, with a G in my right hand and an F# in my left as he lead the chime choir in prayer before our performance.  I met him again at 8:40 when I hooked him up to the lapel mike and requested that he turn it off when he wasn’t actively speaking since it piggy backs on the audio port for any computer generated music.  Then we connected again at 9:06 when I handed him a handheld mike after said lapel mike sent up a horrendous cacophony when he switched it on…I am co-chair of the technology team.  When he officially begins in November, I imagine I’ll also “meet” him again as the Director of the K-6th Grade and 7-12th Grade youth group.

I’ve been “wearing so many hats.”   I’m tired, and I’ve begun to actively resent the time I spend…so has my family.  My commitment to service hasn’t wavered, but I was practically wriggling at the vote and the inspiration and rejuvenation that a charismatic new leader could bring to this place I care about so much.  It was like a load had been lifted from my shoulders.

That lightness has continued into the week…with hope for the future, I’ve finally found some time to launch into some seasonal “porch-scaping”

Needs more pumpkins...

Needs more pumpkins…

Halloween is certainly not the most sacred of holidays, but for me it marks a seasonal transition…a precursor for a season that is around the corner.  For the first time in a long time, I’m really looking forward to it.

15 comments on “OT: Thank G-d for small favors…

  1. guylty says:

    What do you mean, Halloween is not the most sacred of holidays? It’s the eve of my birthday, so it most definitely *is*!!!! I like the Celtic Irish origin of it – interestingly “samhain” was the beginning of the year, i.e. the year started with darkness and winter and worked towards light and summer. And Halloween is the night when the door between the worlds opens, fairies are visible, and mortals can mingle with the creatures of legend and myth. Just think how fabulous that would be for a classicist like yourself. A date with Cupid? You’re on on October 31st!

  2. Servetus says:

    Oct 31st is VERY important to Protestants. I mean, seriously, guys.

    • obscura says:

      I know, its All Souls, not something that was ever a notable celebration in my church life..All Saints, yes, but Halloween was always pretty much trick or trating for us.

      More recently, an increasingly Evangelical landscape, there has been a ton of push back on the supposed pagan/demonic potential…even around here.

    • obscura says:

      So I looked it up Reformation Day…I can honestly say that this was never stressed that I can recall…is a more a Lutheran emphasis?

      • Servetus says:

        It’s definitely a more high church thing, but it was historically a huge state holiday in eastern and northern Europe, up into the fairly recent past. The Reformed Churches of the US were mostly fairly low church, and that affected awareness of it in the U.S.

        • obscura says:

          Crud…lost what I was typing. There you have it…we are the reformed of the reformed. I always loved dates, and I actually paid attention in the hiatory section of confirmation class, but I have zero recall of this! Loe church indeed. 🙂

      • Servetus says:

        One reason Luther picked Oct 31 to post the theses (if you believe he did post them, a matter of controversy still) was that the penitential practice around All Souls’ / All Saints’ was particularly intense. The first thesis states that when Jesus said to do penance in Matthew, he didn’t mean the ritual of penance, but rather an attitude characterizing the whole life of the believer. It’s a foundational attack on the penitential system and would have been in particularly strong evidence at that time of year (apart from the St Peter’s Indulgence of 1517 question).

  3. Hariclea says:

    lovely porch and that is good news, hope you can enjoy the holidays more like this 🙂 All souls is big back home and still means a lot to me, i always miss being with my family and remembering our loved ones together, never quite managed to get into Halloween spirit though as didn’t grow up with it

Leave a Reply

