For Guylty…”Friendship is a light in dark times”

I am sure that most of you are already aware that Guylty’s father died last week after a sudden and unexpected illness.  The obituary for her father appeared in their local paper yesterday, and it asks mourners not to send tangible expressions of sympathy to the family.  The desired beneficiary of any memorials is a Heimatverein via a German bank account.

Since this will be a bit difficult for people outside of the EU to participate in, Servetus and I talked it over and we thought that a donation to one of Richard Armitage’s Just Giving charities on behalf of fans might be in order (similar to the one that was organized in memory of Servetus’ mom last summer).  I have set up a new PayPal account to collect donations which will then be donated at the Just Giving site.

This post is not meant as a pressure to donate;   We know that heartfelt expressions of sympathy are the most meaningful, and very many of you have left notes of sympathy already. But if you feel so moved, we wanted to let you know about this opportunity to donate.   Guylty is really a bright light of the fandom; she has bolstered so many of us time and again, both knowingly and unknowingly; and our hope is to extend the sign from all over the world of how much we sympathize with her.

As far as the transactional details, we have a couple of different options

1.  CDoart has volunteered to coordinate donations to the Heimaterverein  HERE

2.  To donate to via PayPal click HERE

  • it is possible to donate via PayPal without a PayPal account.  Shoot me an email, and I’ll send you the info.

3. All PayPal donations will be kept completely confidential, but if you would prefer to remain wholly anonymous, you can donate  directly to Just Giving without providing your name.  Click HERE for Richard Armitage’s Just Giving Pages.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask.

I’ll leave you with a song by one of Guylty’s favorite artists…

21 comments on “For Guylty…”Friendship is a light in dark times”

  1. […] presence, Obscura has started a donation campaign in memory of her father. You can read about the details at her blog. The spReAd the love campaigners have also agreed to count any donation made in memory […]

  2. Reblogged this on richardtreehouse and commented:
    My thoughts are with Guylty at this sorrowful time.

  3. Perry says:

    Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:
    Here is the information about how to make a donation in memory of Guylty’s dad, who recently died. Donations through Just Giving will be deemed a kindess and generate an anonymous donation. Or, if you wish to donate to the German charity of Guylty’s choice and that of her family, you can go to CDOARTs page and donate through Paypal.

  4. Marie Astra says:

    Reblogged this on Obsessive Behavior and commented:
    Any of you who know Guylty through her blog, tumblr, or “ooofs” on meandrichard blog, may want to consider contributing. Guylty adds SO MUCH to our Armitage community. I feel deeply for her and her family’s sudden loss of a beloved family member.

  5. zan says:

    Reblogged this on Well, There You Go … and commented:
    Our deepest sympathies go out to Guylty and her family. *hugs* and lots of prayers …

  6. Herba says:

    Reblogged this on Unkraut vergeht nicht….oder doch? and commented:
    Wieder einmal hat sich die Armitage-Fangemeinde etwas einfallen lassen, um eine der Ihren in einer schwierigen Zeit zu unterstützen. Thanks to Obscura, Servetus, CDoart and to all who spread the word and participate!!!
    Details zur Aktion erfahrt ihr im unten stehenden Text:

  7. […] read here.  Your participation in Guylty’s time of need would be greatly […]

  8. AgzyM says:

    Reblogged this on I Want to be a Pin Up and commented:
    I had written a huge intro, but I decided to keep it simple: Let’s give back a little bit of that positive energy that Guylty has been showering us with.

  9. A lovely and thoughtful idea. I made a donation directly to Just Giving.

  10. obscura says:

    Reblogged this on Ancient Armitage and commented:

    If anyone is still intending to donate, I will be collecting until 23:59 PST tomorrow – July 7th. Thanks to all who have donated and to everyone who has sent messages of support to Guylty over the past few weeks.

  11. guylty says:

    It is very late to be saying thanks, but at least for posterity I am attaching my heartfelt thanks to this post as well. I remember reading it on a Sunday evening, while we were all sitting in my mum’s house with friends. When I read this post, I could not believe my eyes. I nudged my husband, who was sitting beside me, and had to have him read the post. Later I explained to my mum, and she was all “I can’t believe that” and tearful over the remote expression of condolences.
    It feels truly special to me that you felt that my grief merited this kind of acknowledgment, and although it may sound quite superficial and selfish, knowing that this was happening somehow made me feel happy during the initial days of shock and grief.
    Thank you!

    • obscura says:

      You are one of my favorite people on the planet, so speaking for myself, I’m so very glad that our little community effort brought some amount of joy in the midst of your grief. It’s an affirmation to me that there is so much more here than people on the outside think. There is the silliness and the squee, but bigger than that, there is LOVE here! Sending you a giant hug!!!

Leave a Reply

