Manus multae cor unum…

“Many hands, one heart…”

A similar photo of my parents on their wedding day inspired this shot...

A similar photo of my parents on their wedding day inspired this shot…

I have a bit of a thing for hands. ย Whether pampered and manicured or weathered and work worn, I think they are beautiful, powerful, often evocative instruments…whether ancient, or not so ancient.

Royal Hands

Relief sculpture of the arachnodactylic (spider-like) hands of an Amarna Period royal

Relief sculpture of the arachnodactylic (spider-like) hands of an Amarna Period royal

Porter hands

Strikeback 1.3

Strong, yet delicate…Strikeback 1.3

Beautiful bronze hands

Detail from the Charioteer of Delphi

Detail from the Charioteer of Delphi

Talking Hands

TDOS Press Tour

TDOS Press Tour

Working Hands

Detail from "The Boxer"

Detail from “The Boxer”

Kissing Hands

North and South...as if you could forget!

North and South…as if you could forget!

Can those really be marble?! hands

bernini hands

Bernini – Hades and Persephone

Tying Hands

Glamour December 2012

Glamour December 2012

Iconic Hand

Detail of David by Michaelangelo

Detail of David by Michaelangelo

I don’t really know why…I just like hands…

 

ย 

20 comments on “Manus multae cor unum…

  1. Servetus says:

    MMMMMMM.

  2. siriuslygrednforge says:

    Love this! I never realized how much I like hands, until now (seriously). Talking hands ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Teuchter says:

    Wonderful post! Thank you!! Hands are one of the first things I notice about a person after their eyes. I’m intrigued by them. I remember distinctly as a school girl being repulsed by a friends hands after noticing that while her fingers were perfectly normal she had really short stubby thumbs. I’m quite ashamed now at my reaction to them, but have never forgotten how they made me feel. I wish I could explain it. Am I weird or what?

    You have shown some wonderful examples above and the Bernini one is exquisite. I wonder who the body and/or hand models were? Of course it goes without saying that I *love* Richard’s hands. I think they are beautiful whether in repose or “talking”! Those “kissing hands” just added to the beauty of that wonderful scene. *sigh*

    • obscura says:

      It came together remarkably easily. I don’t think you’re weird…hands can be a big turn on/off – my sister once broke up with someone because he had tiny hands (the fact that he was a giant jerk didn’t help either!)

      That whole Bernini piece endlessly astounds me. The only one I don’t love is the David, they have always seemed oddly large to me, but it’s less visible when one can’t see the whole piece.

      Richard has almost model male hands I think – strongly masculine, but with visible fine bone structure, long fingers…he could be Bernini’s hand model ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. guylty says:

    Yes, hands are gorgeous. But they somehow have to fit with the man they belong to. I have seen gorgeous hands on despicable people – and they just crept (creeped?) me out. The Armitage hands are fully in keeping with the Armitage body and soul of course, so all good ๐Ÿ™‚

    • obscura says:

      I can totally see that – there is a degree of added malevolence when a beautiful instrument is in the hands of a nasty individual.

      • guylty says:

        Totally so. You just wonder how the hell that can be true… the devil has his hands (sic) in it, maybe?

        • obscura says:

          Perhaps…isn’t there lore that the devil was originally the most beautiful of angels? I suppose it makes some degree of sense that nastiness can exist within beautiful things…we wouldn’t be as tempted if it was all ugly…

  5. Oh my yes. I have always had a thing for beautiful hands, and his are a fine example.

  6. trudystattle says:

    The Bernini is incredible. Looks. so. real.
    I have really long fingers, and love graceful feminine hands maybe more than those rock-solid (marble-solid?) masculine hands that can do oh-so-much.
    And I confess that every time I see Daniela Denby-Ashe’s hands in N&S, I wish she had had pretty, slender fingers. Her hands aren’t the enticing, delicate symbols of feminine allure that Gaskell described. IMO, they’re not really pretty hands at all. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    (She makes up for that deficiency in those pouting, sensual lips and doe-like eyes!)

    • I have lips very like DDA’s. I find the thought very distracting when I think of the interview where Richard says that filming the train station scene was very easy for him because she has lips that he just wanted to kiss as soon as he saw them.

  7. obscura says:

    I always have to look twice at images of that Bernini to make sure it’s not a black and white human re-enactment. It really is incredible.

    I can see what you mean…that tea pouring scene that Gaskell describes so beautifully doesn’t translate very convincingly for me…Thornton (RA) is seemingly riveted, but why was less clear to me on film…if I hadn’t read Gaskell’s scene, I would have been perplexed.

Leave a Reply

