Mini Me speaks…literally! SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge

I had asked my children to pitch in on this effort, and Mini Me agreed but asked if we could do her contribution interview style, specifically an audio interview.  I have a handy dandy gadget to do that, so without further ado, Mini Me talks books:

Incognito...

Incognito…

Click here to hear Mini Me’s literary thoughts:  

(I seem to have lost some sound quality in converting to a format that WP will allow, so you may need to crank it up 🙂  )

 

 

little house bw

12 comments on “Mini Me speaks…literally! SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge

  1. Servetus says:

    I loved hearing about your favorite parts and how there were some good parts and not-so-good parts for the Ingalls family. I also remember the butchering scene and blowing up the pig’s bladder for a balloon! My other favorite part when I was younger was the sugaring-off dance and churning the butter. The last time I read it, not so long ago, though, my favorite part was the end, where Laura says, “Now is now. It can never be a long time ago.”

    I bet you will remember this book for a long time. Oh, Mini Me! I loved this book, too, when I was your age and now I’m 45 and I remember it in detail, I read it SO often when I was younger. I’d love to hear what you think of _The Long Winter_, which is my favorite book by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

  2. katie70 says:

    I would have to say the Little House books are my favorite from my childhood. I still have all of them and Rose Wilder Lanes books too. I did for part of my childhood live with out running water and power also no central heat just a wood stove. I think because I sort of lived a life kind of like Laura I got what she was writing about.

    Also my grandpa and grandma (dad’s parents) where born in 1884 grandma in Minnesota and grandpa in Dakota Territory before it was the 2 states he was born in what is now North Dakota.

    No favorites in the books, like them all.

    • Servetus says:

      have you ever visited Pepin? I guess there’s not much to see there anymore. I have been to some of the other LIW museums.

      • katie70 says:

        No I have never been to Pepin and really it’s not that far away. I don’t see my boys enjoying it to much. I have seen that there is a lot more in SD. Have you ever been to Pepin?

  3. guylty says:

    What a neat book to choose – it is so special to read a story that is set in a place you are familiar with. I did not realise that the books of LIW were set in Wisconsin (well, some of them)! So there, I have learnt something from your review.
    I never read the books myself, although I am familiar with the TV program. I watched it when I was your age, a long time ago. They translated and dubbed it all for German TV. Can you imagine what Laura Ingalls sounded like in German? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r98ib3-9BgI I hope you keep enjoying books – thanks for your review.
    Oh – and message to Maxi Me 😉 – nice to hear your voice!!!

  4. jazzbaby1 says:

    A.Dor.A.Ble. My fave from that series was The House at Plum Creek. Thanks so much, Mini-Me!

  5. MaryJaneZigZag says:

    Great addition to the review crew! I remember ‘Little House in the Big Woods’ too!

  6. obscura says:

    Mini Me has been a bit under the weather this week, but she tells me that she should be “up to” replying to comments tomorrow … Diva! 😀

  7. […] we might have a couple of posts trickle in from time to time.  Mini Me was so excited about her guest appearance that she mentioned the challenge to the members of her reading group at school.  Three of her […]

Leave a Reply

