et alia: So you want to write racy fan fiction? OH THE FEELS!!

I have been having a devil of a time with the last few chapters of my Strikeback fan fic Recovery.  This time it’s not “choreography” or quiet time or plot details, but how to successfully convey “the feels”.  According to knowyourmeme.com,  the term *feels*

feelsWithout giving away any spoilers, my AU story of John Porter and his love interest Lindsey Tate has plowed into some deeply emotional territory, and strangely, although the whole thing comes from my imagination, I’m finding that I’m not immune to it’s tear jerking effect.

Yes, if you must know, I am! *sniffle*

Yes, if you must know, I am! *sniffle*

At the moment, I’m struggling a bit with how to adequately convey the deep emotions of the characters without descending into melodrama.  It’s not for lack of examples of how John Porter emotes.  Richard Armitage has a gift for expressing a wide range of feelings without uttering a single word – so much angst and concern!

How does he do that?

How does he do that?
Screen caps from http://www.richardarmitagenet.com

I guess there’s no help for it…I’ll just *have* to go back and watch Strikeback again to study these emotional scenes frame by frame for inspiRAtion!  (I should be sobbing through that emotional scene by the weekend!)

14 comments on “et alia: So you want to write racy fan fiction? OH THE FEELS!!

  1. Leigh says:

    Such hardship for your art! Sometimes the simplest words convey the most feels. But I know, sometimes it’s really difficult to find the right ones.

    • obscura says:

      The sacrifices we must make… 😉 This is one of those situations where facial expression and body language say so much – and that is something that is really difficult to replicate with words alone. I’ll get there…

  2. guylty says:

    Damn. Watching SB again. I am so sorry for you. Cos it’s gonna hit YOU right in the feels *hehe*. And yes, yes, double yes – he’s mighty good at conveying the feels, our good ole RA. You picked some really heart-wrenching caps there.
    I cannot wait to read the next developments in Recovery, although I am half-dreading it because the cause for their emotional upheaval is something I had to go through – twice – myself. I have greatest confidence in your abilities, though – you have *always* written Lindsey and Porter extremely evocatively without being melodramatic. Just launch into it and see where it takes you. Nothing is written in stone – you can edit as much as you like. The first step is the hardest. [/end of platitudes]

    • obscura says:

      My biggest issue is that DVD 2 has gone missing from the box – ergh! (I wonder if Hubs has purloined it?) Fortunately, Porter’s biggest emotional interaction with the female (Katie Dartmouth) is on the first disc, so I should be OK until I can hunt down the other one. You’re totally right…my biggest obstacle right now is myself – determined to sit down tomorrow and at least rough something out. (tissues at the ready!)

  3. Servetus says:

    The punishment we subject ourselves to …

    My beginning students were reading a famous text yesterday about appearances — what you need to do and how you need to appear to be successful — and I found myself thinking about SB (of which that is a theme) and it sort of touches on your topic here. You want to get the depiction that’s appropriate to your character (how does Porter reveal his emotions vs how does Porter actually feel?) but it’s so hard when you’re balancing your emotions about the topic with what has been revealed, what you can see in a certain situation, and then, of course, what you can feasibly write. All of which is to say, good luck and darnitall we are waiting!!

    • obscura says:

      It is painful… 🙂 Yeah, there is a lot on the table, not the least of which is my desire to deal with a sensitive issue, well, sensitively. It’s coming along.

  4. I haven’t read all that much Porter fan fiction. Maybe it’s because there isn’t a whole lot out there. (And I guess this is an invitation to point me in the right direction.) But I will certainly look forward to yours.

    • Leigh says:

      At Dreamer Fiction, check the Fiction by Character List for John Porter. Offhand, I can think of three novel-length pieces, in addition to “Recovery” that you might find rewarding.

      • Leigh–I will scour the shelves, I will dig the dust bins, I will clear the closets! I will publish Porters! I will see what I can find on Porter stories for the Fan Fiction Round-up this week!

    • obscura says:

      I think in comparison to other chaRActers, there’s a bit less Porter fic, but there are some really good ones out there (some on Dreamer, WattPad and FF.net…I don’t think there’s much on AO3, but I could be mistaken)

  5. […] OMG Obscura, that just gave me feels… […]

  6. I think I understand what you’re going through. It’s frustrating when I don’t have a clue as to how I should write emotional parts in my stories. Especially when it comes to finding the right words to describe what the characters are feeling. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

