OT: Can we get a “For she’s a jolly good old gal” ?

I still don't think that's enough candles...

I still don’t think that’s enough candles…

She’ll never read this, but I wanted to take a minute to send a little love out into the universe for my Grandma Anna who celebrated her 101st birthday yesterday.  Most days she doesn’t recognize my dad (her son)…but honestly, he’s one of ten, I might get a bit fuzzy on all of them myself…and she doesn’t know me at all anymore, but she gets up everyday, play cards, laughs at jokes, eats her birthday cake with gusto and lives her life.  Tiny herself, she’s always been a sucker for a big handsome man…

I'm pretty sure this one could still tear her attention away from that birthday cake! Photo by Robert Ascroft Courtesy of richardarmitagenet.com

I’m pretty sure this one could still tear her attention away from that birthday cake!
Photo by Robert Ascroft

HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRANDMA!!

21 comments on “OT: Can we get a “For she’s a jolly good old gal” ?

  1. jazzbaby1 says:

    Awww…Happy Birthday, Grandma Anna!

  2. Wishing Grandma Anna a lovely birthday!

  3. Servetus says:

    Happy birthday!

  4. Marie Astra says:

    Happy Birthday to Grandma Anna! What an achievement! 101! Hugs!

  5. Sending out 101 hugs, kisses and a whole lots of laughter. You go Grandmama Anna. My great Grandmama Anna Riley Conway lived to be 103. It must be the name.

  6. Perry says:

    Happy Birthday, Anna. You’re in great company. My favorite Aunt just turned 101 on January 26th.

  7. AgzyM says:

    Happy Birthday Grandma Anna! I like a lady who knows how to live a good life: cards, cake and a good laugh sounds like a hot.
    BTW, The Polish Birthday song is Sto Lat

    • AgzyM says:

      oopppsss, hit “post comment” too soon: Anyway, as I was saying before I interrupted myself, Sto Lat translates to 100 years and talks about hoping the Birthday girl/boy lives a 100 years, so clearly that wouldn’t cut it for Grandma Anna! 🙂

  8. zan says:

    Happy birthday, Grandma Anna!

  9. katie70 says:

    Happy Birthday Grandma Anna, what a great grand age. Think about all that she has seen in her life time.

  10. obscura says:

    On behalf of my Grandma, I thank you all for the birthday wishes…she has tallied up a pretty full life…10 children, 29 grandchildren, 42 great grandchildren and 4 great-great-grandchildren…I thought that her big party last year must have vaguely frightening since she recognizes so few people anymore. She worked at a local clergy retreat sanctuary until well into her eighties and lived on her own until she was 98, scooting around on a wheeled plant stand to dust all her knick-nacks (she wouldn’t hear of it when I suggested that she just get rid of them). She’s a tough nut 🙂

    • she wouldn’t hear of it when I suggested that she just get rid of them). You suggested she get rid of her life memories? You wouldn’t believe the things my Mom has asked us to bring her at the nursing home. They are the only things that keep her grounded.

      • obscura says:

        Not all of them…just the ones that were down so low, or at least move them up to where she could reach them without so much difficulty. (You can’t even imagine the volume of stuff she had in her tiny house).

        • We fixed up a room for my Mom when she moved here. 101×12′. Nice size, double bed, chair, desk, dresser. TV. 2 bookcases. She “supposedly” got rid of most everything when she left Idaho because she knew she couldn’t keep it. She came with a moving van. OMG, we had to build a loft in the garage to store stuff. She brought 4 dressers, 2 beds, a dining room set, couch, 2 recliners, plus all her stuff in boxes. She’s been here 8 years and there are boxes she still hasn’t unpacked and doesn’t even remember they are in the loft. LOL Her stuff included Precious Moment figurines. At least 100, with original boxes.

          • obscura says:

            Oh yeah, the whole distribution of her things when she went to the nursing home caused a huge kerfluffle…not with her, but between a couple of my dad’s sibs. I think there is still a bit of a struggle for dominance going on there.

            I think with my Grandma (who is quite possible the least sentimental person I’ve ever met) this conversation was more about her maintaining her autonomy…kind of, “I can still do this myself” (she didn’t want any help either) than it was any attachment to the actual items. I can’t remember exactly, but this was probably at a point when it was becoming likely that she would need to make a change and she was initially very resistant to it. I can totally see that…she had gained total independence after my Grandfather’s death twenty years ago, and I can’t blame her for not wanting to give it up.

    • Joanna says:

      Wow!Impressive lady 🙂 Happy Birthday !

  11. that’s 10′ x 12′ room.

  12. […] to an elderly woman who was stranded and alone in the snow and cold. Turns out she knows my Grandma Anna and they had a nice […]

  13. […] marked the passing of my Grandma Anna.  You may remember that I recently gave a shout out for her 101st birthday.  I can’t really be too sad…she lived a very long and very fruitful life and simply […]

Leave a Reply

