And now, a little bookeeping…

It's not as lovely as Gisborne's Boy's graphic  - baby steps...

It’s not as lovely as Gisborne’s Boy’s graphic – baby steps…

Another busy week of raising the quantity of global kindness is in the books!  As of today, we have logged fifty acts of kindness, which also means that a minimum of $50 will be donated to Richard Armitage’s Just Giving charities.  That is a double dip I think we can all support!  I love the awareness that this drive has given me about how little it takes to do someone a solid.  Yesterday I was at the area courthouse…nothing exciting, just applying for a food permit.  When I was leaving, I noticed that the meter on the car parked behind me was expired, so I dug in my coat pocket and fished out a coin to drop in it and gave that driver a few more minutes to finish up inside.  Parking citations are notorious in this area, and it would really bite to come out from doing one’s civic business to find a ticket flapping from the windshield wiper.  Problem averted by a tiny kindness from a passing stranger.

Thanks to everyone who’s been busy SpReAding the Love and letting us know, and to those in the process and to those who just started thinking about it!  In addition to reporting here, or on Jazzbaby’s blog  or on Facebook, or via email, SpReAd the Love also has its own shiny new tumblr ( for all the frequent tumblrs out there.)  Twitter handle coming soon.

One thing…we love it when you all spread the word, but please reblog rather than repost – it’s likely to get confusing for us to find kindnesses reported if we can’t track them back.  Thanks!!

Let's go wrap the world in kindness...like a cozy Richard Armitage sweater! Source:  linzbarker

Let’s go wrap the world in kindness…like a cozy Richard Armitage sweater!
Source: linzbarker

10 comments on “And now, a little bookeeping…

  1. guylty says:

    Good tally – only ten days in and already 50 acts of kindness logged. The world is a good place?! Your act of anonymous kindness was really good. And funnily enough – I did the same today. Our neighbours had forgotten to move their car from the paid parking spot in front of their house, but they had left for the day as they told me when I texted them. I got one of my daily parking permits and put it under their windscreen wiper. Potential 86 Euro fine averted. Smile on my face. (Worth a log in the campaign??
    Second act of kindness: Asylum seeker friend of mine asked me to order something for him over the internet as he is not allowed to have a bank account as a refugee whose official status has not yet been determined by the powers that be. Have done so and told him to keep the little money that he has. My contribution to his happiness.
    Not sure if all these rather specific acts of kindness count for you. Forgive me if I say, it doesn’t matter – it made me feel good doing this. Very selfish of me.

    • obscura says:

      Make it 52…those absolutely count. I am a firm believer in the idea of a chain reaction of kindness. If more people in the world made a practice of “paying it forward” imagine what might happen. We’re just getting that ball rollin’ 🙂

  2. Servetus says:

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    Update on spReAd the love. Have you participated yet?

  3. Perry says:

    Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:
    Report is in that 50 acts of love have been spread for a double dip donation of 50 in cash. Spread the Word as suggested. I’m sure we can reach the maximum of 200 so we can match that number with cash contributions from the wonderful anonymous donor who has signed on.

  4. I was at the grocery store this afternoon and the parking lot was a mess (we’ve have lots of snow and frigid temperatures.) I offered to return a cart for a lady with a cane who was parked in handicapped. They don’t have cart boys at this store, you put in a quarter to get a cart and get your quarter back when you return it. She was so thankful; it made my day.

Leave a Reply

