A New CollaboRAtion for 2014

LogoForSpeadTheLove_Transparent

Be sure to stop by and give Gisbornes Boy lots of love for this amazing logo graphic!!

I am delighted to be collaborating with JazzBaby on the 2014 version of SpReAd the Love, a year long initiative to celebrate the wonderful generosity of this fandom in our local communities.  Charitable giving is something that is near and dear to my heart…to the hearts of millions really.  I often feel limited in what I am able to do financially, but I’ve come to realize that donations of money are not the only important contributions.  This is what I absolutely love about STL…check out the history here…giving comes in all sorts of shapes and sizes.

SpReAd the Love will look a little different in 2014.  For one, in addition to donations of blood and food, basically any act of generosity or kindness fits the bill.  Closet cleaning result in bags of outgrown clothes for the thrift store?  It counts.   Driving your carless neighbor to the store?  It counts.  Cleaning windows for shut ins?  You got it…it counts!   Tell us also if someone did something great for you…what seems like a small kindness can have a huge ripple effect.  You’ll be surprised, once you start tallying, how much you are already doing that is making a difference for someone!

How does this work?  STL will be a year long project.  You do what you do and then let us know about it…you can leave a comment here or at Jazz’s (anonymous if you like) or send me an email at: ancientarmitage at gmail dot com with the subject KINDNESS and I will keep your name and address strictly confidential if you prefer.  We’ll keep a log of all the goodness and tally it up.  Here’s the really great part…an anonymous third collaboRAtor has pledged to donate £1 to Armitage’s Just Giving Charities for each kindness tallied between now and the end of February (to a £200 max)!

Let’s SpReAd some Love!!

LogoForSpeadTheLove_Transparent

Graphic by GisbornesBoy

42 comments on “A New CollaboRAtion for 2014

  1. Servetus says:

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    spReAd the love in 2014!

  2. Reblogged and tweeted. What an outstanding idea. I don’t have much money but I have a lot of clothes and other things that I can give away. Thank you!

  3. […] charities for every act of kindness done through “spReAd the love” and noted here or here by the end of February 2014, up to a limit of […]

  4. Kathy Jones says:

    What a great idea. I am so saintly, however, that I may only report a small percentage of my random acts of kindness. If I listed all of them, our generous philanthropist would be hard pressed to match them. Seriously, I am continuously amazed at how this fandom encourages and focuses on the positives of giving, There are so many wonderful people here.

  5. Perry says:

    Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:
    I’ll be starting out by donated coats to the New York City Coat Drive. What will you do? Let Jazzy and Obscura Know. Be Counted.

  6. Reblogged this on crystalchandlyre and commented:
    Just a great idea.

  7. […] can read more about it and where to report your acts of kindness at Ancient Armitage, Something About Love (A), and Me + Richard Armitage, and Funky Blue […]

  8. […] donor will donate £1 for each and every act of kindness “spReAd the love” mentioned here or here till the end of February 2014, up to a limit of […]

  9. […] Reblogged from Ancient Armitage: […]

  10. […] Read the full article via A New CollaboRAtion for 2014 | Ancient Armitage. […]

  11. […] can find info on how to participate here  and Jazzy has a brand new STL page on her blog with a great synopsis of the origins of the idea. […]

  12. […] sees the kick-off of the spReAd the love campaign (click here to learn more about […]

  13. zan says:

    Reblogged this on Well, There You Go … and commented:
    SpReAd the Love!!!

  14. Dee says:

    On the first of January this year 7 of us, 3 kids, 4 adults, made up 7 bags. Each bag contained winter socks, hats, gloves, scarves, a blanket, a drink and a sandwich. We then went into our local city and gave them to the homeless people we found there. We did not say who they were from. Next time we hope to do more.

  15. Perry says:

    I want to report that if you haven’t credited me for donating coats to the NYC Coat Drive ( you may have already) – three good,dry-cleaned coats were delivered to the drop off this morning.

    In addition, I delivered ( actually someone delivered it for me) 10 1 lb boxes of assorted pasta,10 jars of pasta sauce, and 10 cans of beans and two bags of rice to a local food pantry in a Catholic Church.

    Can you credit as an additional good deed the act of my doorman who delivered the food for me?.

    I saw that we had 50 good deeds that would be matched by an anonymous donor with cash. I sure hope we can get to the maximum of 200 deeds.

    • obscura says:

      I did get the NYC Coat Drive donation logged, and I’ll when I update the data later today, I’ll record your food bank donation and the kindness of your doorman for delivering it.

      We’ve been steadily gaining momentum, and I think meeting, or even exceeding the $200 matching gift is totally doable. This community rocks!!

  16. Mairimia says:

    It doesn’t seem much but I buy bread weekly for an old woman who begs in the street next to my working place, does that count?

  17. Mairimia says:

    Today I helped a lady find Eckart Tolle’s book The Power of the Present.

  18. Helen says:

    Hi, I’m amalgamating two homes at the moment so gave a lot of duplicate stuff! Took masses of kitchen equipment and CDs to the charity shop yesterday.

  19. Brynichildis says:

    I didn’t think I could contribute anything to this, but it doesn’t have to be something I did, does it? A wonderful kindness done to me will count as well, right? A good friend and lovely RA fan received several Hobbit-themed calendars for Christmas. When she learned I was going to make my own, she was so very, very kind to gift me one of hers. I’d love for this kindness to be counted as well.

  20. […] to help while away the RAless time and to spread a little bit of love. (Note to the  organisers of STL, Jazzbaby and Obscura – I think this generous and kind gesture from Katia deserves an entry […]

  21. Hello! This is so amazing 🙂

    I was referred here by . . Me + Richard Armitage . . blog about something along these lines that I’m doing. It’s called the Richard Armitage Fan 24 Hour Cold Water Challenge. #Richard24ColdWaterPlunge

    It’s a little silly, really crazy, but I think, if fans jump on the opportunity, it will raise a LOT of funds for the four charities Richard supports.

    I’m sorry, I didn’t know how else to contact you without posting it in the comments section. Here is a link to the blog where the challenge has been issued.
    http://richard24coldwaterplunge.blogspot.com

  22. jane says:

    one of my customers had her 82 birthday today so I bought her a bouquet of flowers .She is widowed two years and I think it is hard for her around her birthday.

  23. jane says:

    gave two pairs of new shoes to Oxfam shop .(just not wide enough for me ) instead of selling them on ebay

  24. […] fluid and frequently cheeky-funny style. Moreover, Obscura is one of the two ladies behind the Spread the Love initiative. She deserved some love for her birthday. It was clear I had to do a theme that would […]

Leave a Reply

