Καλά Χριστούγεννα ArmitageWorld!

merry christmas

The predawn stillness was broken by rapid footsteps descending wooden stairs, tearing paper, laughing children and the roar of the snowblower and the scrape of the shovel….??

Christmas morning was going along so well…I managed, with only a tiny exaggeration at 5:47, to keep Mini-me in bed until 7:00 before she couldn’t stand it anymore.  The kids were opening their offerings from Santa – bittersweet this year since I think it will be the last one that Mini-Me believes – when I looked outside.  Ergh…it snowed again overnight.  Ordinarily, we’d let it go a bit longer since we didn’t need to be out until later, but I also saw my elderly neighbor out shoveling her driveway.  We have an arrangement – in exchange for the use of her snowblower, we take care of her snow removal.  She’s expecting family today, so she decided to shovel it herself, I assume because she didn’t want to disturb our Christmas morning.  She was already done with most of the driveway when I walked out onto the porch (in barefeet and pajamas) to do a small town yell and let her know we’d be there shortly to blow out what the snow plow had left in the end of her driveway.

Nanook of the North...aka Obscurus.  I had to beat a hasty retreat - that thing throws further than I thought!

Nanook of the North…aka Obscurus. I had to beat a hasty retreat – that thing throws further than I thought!

Not exactly the idyllic Christmas morning I was expecting, but all in all, not so bad.  I had started to clean off the car that doesn’t fit in the garage (don’t ask) but then decided to grab my phone to snap some pictures while I was out there.  Trying not to track snow into the house, I called from the mudroom for one of the kids…no answer.  Strange – I left them knee deep in wrapping paper in front of the tree.  Leaving snow tracks, I went into the house to fetch my phone and found the wrapping paper all bagged up, and the kids…and their loot…no where in sight.  They had packed up their stuff and relocated to their rooms to get down to business.  A Christmas miracle!!  Usually, there needs to be an act of congress to get these kids to haul their stuff upstairs!

Back outside, I returned to assist with the snow removal.  Actually, my presence was pretty much de trop.  Although there was at least three inches of new snow, it is of the sparkly, fluffy variety –  I’m told the type of “powder” skiers love.  (I wouldn’t know – the one and only time I skied,  there were blue streaks all over the snow from where the butt of my new Levis slid down the slope.  I understand that is not the proper form!)  The snowblower makes pretty short work of this kind of snow, so I piddled around, cleaned off the front walk and the porch and took some pictures.

wpid-CAM00133.jpg

I find the “Life Cycle of a Snowman” painted window on my porch kind of irritating today 🙂

I really wish I had the resources to rent a crane to put lights in this tree!

I really wish I had the resources to rent a crane to put lights in this tree!

So the snow has all been moved (for now…weather radar shows another storm moving across the state from the west!) and we will mobilize shortly to head over to my sister’s house for brunch.  Wherever today finds you, I wish you the very best of days…full of Joy, Hope, Love and Peace.

Happy Holidays from Ancient Armitage!!

19 comments on “Καλά Χριστούγεννα ArmitageWorld!

  1. […] you’d like to see how it looks, Obscura made a beautiful post about it. A little snowier and treeyier here as Obscura lives in town and we are just a tick more […]

  2. guylty says:

    Happy Christmas, Obscura. Yours looks like the sort of Christmas I would love to have. Knee-deep in snow – bring it on! We have 10 degrees C here at the mo – far too mild… Hope your day continued as nice as it started! Xxx

    • obscura says:

      Happy Christmas to you too! We had a very nice day – only a tiny bit of angst when we discovered that we were short a cable to connect the new Wii U to an old TV. 🙂 Definitely a white Christmas – about 10 degrees here too…10 degrees Farenheit!

  3. trudystattle says:

    Ah, a white Christmas …. I miss snow and all of the accompanying sounds! Snow was an integral part of my childhood, growing up along Lake Erie. I hate that my children are missing out on the experience of real winter.
    It’s sunny and going to be pushing 70 here today. sigh. Maybe we could magically work a two-day exchange…
    Thanks for sharing pictures. Great tree!

    • obscura says:

      I like to have a white Christmas – this year has been kind of odd in that there have been so many relatively small snowfalls or 6-8 inches falling over 12 hours – feels like we’ve been moving it practically every day for two weeks. I love that tree 🙂

  4. judiang says:

    I LOVE snow. We just got a dusting a little south but I’ll take it. Merry Christmas to you. 🙂

  5. Servetus says:

    I’m glad you took pictures; it really is gorgeous at the moment. Happy holidays!

  6. Kathy Jones says:

    Thank you for the Christmas card worthy photos. Very beautiful and the opposite of where I live. Youngest daughter went to beach today in bikini and Santa Hat, not much else.

  7. The snow is beautiful when it first falls. I especially love your pictures with the trees. I had a neighbor with a huge evergreen tree who had it decorated every year. They used a truck that had a bucket on a crane. You could see it for miles. We’ve had 31.5 inches of snow this season. That puts us in second place for the Golden Snowball Award. There is a contest between 5 cities in NY State every year. Merry Christmas!

    • obscura says:

      We would definitely need a bucket truck to light that tree 🙂 We’re a bit behind your snow totals at about 25 inches this season, but that puts us at almost 50% of the normal full season snowfall before the end of December…pretty snowy December! Merry Christmas to you too!

  8. obscura says:

    I’m constantly amazed the kind of pictures I can take with my phone! I have a bit of a love affair with my front porch 🙂 I could deal with beach time!

  9. katie70 says:

    A bit late here but glad you had a good Christmas. I would be surprised if we didn’t have a white Christmas. Only had one in my life that was brown and the next day it snowed and snowed. On Monday I thought the snow was pretty coming down all in sparkles, I don’t say that much as I don’t care for the stuff and not when I have to drive in it. The trees look so nice with the snow hanging on them, as for are poor trees in my part of Wisconsin look sad. They have had the snow plus ice hanging on them since the beginning of December and then we had sub below temps for so long that I think the branches are stuck in the down postion until spring. We had a couple nice day on Friday and Saturday but back to the deep freeze again on Sunday. Christmas we woke up to snow and it snowed most the day. My MIL and BIL didn’t even come for Christmas because of the roads and she didn’t want Mr. 70 to come and get them, the down side to the snow.

    Had a laugh about the car not fitting in the garage, seems so common of a problem in Wisconsin. All of ours sit outside ( thanks to the WWII jeep, tractors and lawnmowers. I was able to get in till 2008 and the jeep came and I when back to work, go figure). Nothing like having to brush the snow off the car at 5:45 am. I think it snowed just about every school night in December. No clues how much snow we have other than it has been good for the tourist trade and skiing. No idea how to ski.

    • Servetus says:

      ours, too. Dad has a 3 car garage and a barn and yet all the cars sit outside. Grrr.

      • katie70 says:

        LOL We never had a garage at our old house so it was on the list of things I wanted when we bought the house, along with closets ( only one small one for five people) and at least two bathrooms. Had my car in the garage from 2004 till 2008. My new car never been inside and hates the cold, must be plugged in anything below zero.

  10. Joanna says:

    It would be such a beautiful Christmass tree 🙂 ….maybe in the next year?
    Happy New Year, Obscura! 🙂 All the best to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

