Richard Armitage and a different classic tradition

image

Gary Cooper is on the left, but who’s that guy on the right?

Certain images in the Esquire spread definitely had a classic Hollywood vibe for me (others too!).  I posted this on Tumblr last night, so apologies for shamelessly cross platform re blogging myself, but I don’t know how to show it to non-Tumblrs any other way. (Instruction always welcome!)

20 comments on “Richard Armitage and a different classic tradition

  1. That’s the one of the set that spoke most viscerally to me. Even beyond being timeless and classic, there’s just something about him there that intrigues and entices.

  2. Reblogged this on crystalchandlyre and commented:
    This is fantastic. I just love it.

    (Comments to Ancient Armitage, please)

  3. […] and “le smoking.” I couldn’t help musing that if Armitage were going to play classic Hollywood or classic Bond, he couldn’t avoid certain things. And then I saw […]

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Two indubitably Beautiful Men! Thanks for the great post.

  5. Helen says:

    He really does have the timeless manly good looks of the old stars. So unlike some of the pretty boys around today…

    • obscura says:

      I suppose it’s a matter of taste, but considering that Gary Cooper died years before I was born and I think he’s gorgeous, timeless is a good description 🙂

  6. Servetus says:

    This is the picture in which I think his face comes closest to what the model is really thinking … (snark snark snark)

    • obscura says:

      Seems to be a common enough occurence in these “leading man” shots. Cooper doesn’t look particularly into the process either.

    • obscura says:

      My perception seems to change depending on my mood. This morning it read as pensive or wistful. This afternoon it reads like, “Are we done here?”

      • Servetus says:

        I think one paradox involved in this genre of pictures is that while the suit is incredibly elegant and draws the eye and wakes the desire, at the same time, if the model isn’t wearing it with a sort of casual vibe, it doesn’t come off. You have to look like a million bucks *and* not care that you do. That’s hard to pull off — I think it culminates in pictures like this one that can be interpreted in multiple ways — casualness, irritation, fatigue, ennui … it’s part of the trope, lol.

  7. guylty says:

    It was between this picture and the profile one that I had to decide early this morning. It is really cool and has much more scope for interpretation, I think. The b/w adds a cool factor to the whole image. However, it’s not quite as Hollywood Glamour as the Gary Cooper image. I think I may have to look at this closely *ggg*
    Thanks for finding that matching Cooper image, Obscura – it’s an interesting comparison.

  8. Joanna says:

    Blasé beauties 😉

Leave a Reply

