OT: I had planned to post today, but…

I’m just too tired.  Instead of the Richard Armitage related post I was planning, the execution of which would require me to sit up (!), I thought I’d show you what I was up to that made me so tired.

I do a little catering from time to time for an exclusive clientele – that’s what I call the hand full of friends and family I’ve catered for ;). A few bridal and baby showers, some luncheons and even two weddings.  Today I was feeding my mother’s ecumenical group at their annual state assembly meeting.  I got this paying gig after being pressed into service for the local chapter’s “May Friendship Day” lunch.  (My mother makes the 19th century British navy look benign when it comes to coerced labor.).

The "gig getting" plate...

The “gig getting” plate…

When I got the word on the per person budget for the event, I gave the board an entree choice of baked ziti or taco lasagna (for that budget, piece work like individual lettuce cups, etc., was off the table.).   Of the two, they chose a meatless taco “lasagna” which I served with tossed green salad full of fresh veggies and lime vinaigrette.

Garnished with home made guacamole and pico de gallo

Garnished with home made guacamole and pico de gallo

The menu went over very well (thank goodness, or I’d never hear the end of it from my mom 🙂 ). A couple of people asked me why I don’t do this for a living….in truth?

image

Because the lioness in this picture looks energetic compared to me right now!

24 comments on “OT: I had planned to post today, but…

  1. Marie Astra says:

    Looks yummy! Meatless taco lasagna? Will you share recipe?? 😀

  2. guylty says:

    Yummie! Looks good. And congrats to you and anyone who voluntarily enjoys cooking. I am just so not into it…
    PS: Enjoying a nice evening with Dr. Matthews and Humpty Dumpty right now, btw. Perfect!

  3. Marie Astra says:

    Oh okay. 😀 Thanks for the recipe, Obscura!! Sound nom nom nommy!!

  4. Servetus says:

    This hits the spot after a day of fasting.

    • obscura says:

      I tried to hold off until the end of the day…

      • Servetus says:

        Thank you. I’m grateful. The deal with fasting is that when you see food again, you want to stuff things in your mouth — but you’re full really quickly for some reason … ??? Anyway, looking at food is great, too.

        • obscura says:

          I think people must think I’m a little weird when I’m always taking pictures of plates of food…heaven forbid someone should scroll through the photos on my iPad (very heavy on plates of food and Richard Armitage…move over Dr. Freud 😉 )

          • Servetus says:

            well, why not?

            btw, I just got Yotam Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem cookbook. It has *the most amazing* pictures ever. I look at it when I don’t have time to go for lunch at work (it’s on my desk).

          • obscura says:

            I’ll bet it’s beautiful. I go to Snapfish and look at the pictures my gal pal took of all the food the last time we took a tour group to Greece – I can remember those meals and the fellowship really vividly. I suppose my predilection has something to do with the food culture I grew up in. Food, family, fun were hand in hand. (I might have taught the Sunday School kids how to make David slays Goliath “rocks” out of marshmallows and dipping chocolate)

          • Servetus says:

            in line with your church’s mission statement 🙂

  5. katie70 says:

    Cooking and serving food can be a tiring job, so put your feet up and relax for the rest of the night. OK so it’s almost midnight, maybe relax tomorrow too. Your meatless Taco Lasagna looks great and I bet taste great too.

    You know there are people who make a living out of taking pictures of food for magazines and cookbooks, maybe a job in later years.

    • obscura says:

      It does all stack up :). There always seems to be a brief moment of “do I have enough?” That freaks me out (I was raised in the tradition where there are always leftovers – but in catering, profits depend on how well you can cook just enough.) If everyone who had booked would have stayed, I was just about dead on, so that’s good.

      I don’t think I have the eye for detail to ever be a professional photographer 🙂

      • katie70 says:

        The do I have enough is a problem I have too. Since I do cook for a living I still have that fear. I would rather have a bit of leftover than not enough, that is not cool. The girls and I do run a tight kitchen and have got it down pretty good, but we are at the beginning of a new year and have to get our new numbers for the year.

        Now for home parties I still have to much, thanks to the family not knowing what RSVP means, they do, but just don’t ever call. I guess it does work out, I don’t have to cook for a couple days.

  6. Since you haven’t posted anything this morning on your birthday–I had to find something close enough— I loved the one with the food–so HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Many happy returns of the day!
    xoxoxoxo

    • obscura says:

      Thanks Arky! This food one is perfect as I’m waiting for my mom – who hasn’t aged since she was 25 and “gave her birthday” to me – to pick me up for a mommy and me, where I am the “me” lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

