Richard Armitage: RA, Aten, Ra

I was making my feeble every other day or so attempt at mastering Tumblr this week when I came across this post:

I have managed to figure out how to “like” something on Tumblr, which I immediately did…then I reblogged it (at least I think I did, I may be wrong).   I really liked this post, and since ancient Egypt crosses over ancient Greece regularly, I have an RA/Ra favorite I’d like to share:

aten

For much of Egyptian religious history, Aten, the sun disk was understood to be a component part of the solar god Ra.  Don’t you just love the little hands?  It’s like the warmth and light of the sun reaches out to touch you.  When I read I Still Believe in Lucas North’s original post, I thought of this image of Aten, and then I thought of Richard Armitage – RA – who reaches out and touches us with warmth and light.  It’s a good feeling isn’t it?

Popcorn Taxi Q&A My Cap

Popcorn Taxi Q&A
Source:  My Cap

11 comments on “Richard Armitage: RA, Aten, Ra

  1. Leigh says:

    It certainly is a good feeling. Ra, and especially the Aten aspect, was a benevolent deity, the hands offering the bounty of divine energy. I love the ankh in the image, too, symbol of eternal life. The green from which it depends is said to signify fertility. This is only the truth, because without the sun, there would be no life on earth as we know it. The sun drives photosynthesis and the Krebs cycle, our primary energy conversion engine.

    I see Richard smile and all the studied stuff goes out the window. I smile back, and life is good.

  2. jasrangoon says:

    How perfect is this comparison. He really is like the sun. Looking/listening/watching him always brightens my day.

  3. marieastra8 says:

    SUCH a good feeling! He is the Sun God for so many of us. For someone who sees himself as a dark and brooding baddie, he certainly brings the opposite feeling to us!

  4. bechep says:

    And even when its cloudy I know that he is there just behind the grey skies to cheer me up again and the dreary day disappears

  5. katie70 says:

    His smile and laugh can sure cheer me up. His smile is like the sun, as it looks so sunny.

Leave a Reply

