Happy Easter Armitage World

I wanted to extend my thanks for the gracious welcome into the Richard Armitage blogosphere and to wish all who celebrate it a Happy Easter.

Tousreki (Greek Easter Bread)

Tousreki (Greek Easter Bread)

For a blog that will focus mostly on finding Richard Armitage in the classical world, it’s a bit late, and for Orthodox Greeks, it’s a bit early (Orthodox Easter is May 5th this year) but the sentiment remains the same:

“Χριστός ἀνέστη!  Ἀληθῶς ἀνέστη!”

 “Christ is Risen!  Truly, He is risen!”

19 comments on “Happy Easter Armitage World

  1. Servetus says:

    Or as they would say in Rome: Resurrexit sicut dixit!

    Happy Easter.

    • obscura says:

      Thanks! I don’t want to leave out the Latin speakers :). Here’s a weird little nugget on this post…when I look at it on my phone, all the alphas and omegas are missing from the Greek – such a weird coincidence!

      • Servetus says:

        There’s a setting somewhere to enable the blog for mobile, but that may not get past the font problem 🙂

        • obscura says:

          It was just weird..I could see everything else, and even if I went to the full site, only the alphas and omegas dropped strange coincidence given the Christian significance of those to characters?

          • Servetus says:

            Yes, WP is anti-apocalyptic rhetoric. 🙂

            The WP composer may have its own code for those characters (and may insist that you use it?). If you look at the dashboard for composing a new post there’s a button there “insert custom character” that’s marked with an Omega.

            However, it may also be your browser. I can see the whole phrase.

          • obscura says:

            Has to be something with the phone…or, I’m just a little wacko 🙂

  2. mujertropical says:

    Yum! That is one gorgeous loaf of bread. I’ve had a wonderful day that began with our services at Church, where members of the congregation sang, played the piano, the violin and the flute. That, combined with the sermon about Christ’s love, the Atonement and the Resurrection truly lifted my spirit. I’m still in physical pain but it really didn’t matter while I was there. Isn’t it amazing how our minds work? Did you bake that bread yourself? If so, I’m impressed! 🙂

    • obscura says:

      It is always a special service for me too. I had goosebumps listening to the choir this morning, and felt a lovely wave flow over me. That doesn’t happen often for me, so I cherish it when it does. I am a huge fan of Greek food (spent a fair amount of time there working) and was lucky enough to celebrate Orthodox Easter there a few years back), but I’ve never attempted tsoureki – I’m a terrible baker – too much measuring :). (I make a mean tzatziki though!)

      • mujertropical says:

        What a wonderful experience for you. I am glad you had that blessing. I love to bake cakes, cookies, desserts, but I have never baked breads other than banana and pumpkin. I guess it’s time to crack open my cookbook collection, which has been stored in a bin for years. You know, great temptation. I will have to look up what tzatziki is!

  3. katie70 says:

    Happy Easter. I hope everyone had a good day. I got up at 4:45 am to start my day and it did start with baking. I made a new recipe for Hot Cross Buns ( made one of my old recipes on Friday) so that we could have them for breakfast. Also made a pound cake, lemon sugar cookies, lime sugar cookies and Whittington Buttons (a british recipe from a cookbook I have). Then I started on the family dinner for 12 this year. It was great to see our first great nephew again today (last saw him in Jan.) he is 3 months old and growing fast. Yum tzatziki , might have to make some. I will have to look up this bread and find a recipe for it. As I was cooking Richard was reading to me the whole time, the family don’t say a word.

    • obscura says:

      Holy moly! That is a big day! I had nothing near that level of prep – my cousin hosted and my assigned contribution was a veggie platter! I did get compliments on my dip though :). I’m a dip master…I have restaurant idea of an all dip buffet with a variety of crackers, chips, veggies, etc to use as dippers. ( yes, yes I am a dork 😀 ). Let me know how it goes with the tsoureki – I’ve only ever baked quick breads, nothing with yeast…I’ve also wondered about baking whole eggs…

      I often plug into a Richard narrated book when I’ve got a big day in the kitchen – great minds you know 😉

      • Servetus says:

        Are we related? 🙂 I also hate baking, and could nourish myself exclusively from dip foods (and sometimes do …)

        • obscura says:

          LOL! I’ve catered weddings for a couple of friends who apparently share the little known dip gene! Guacamole, hummus, tzatziki, Reuben dip, salsa, raita…an international dip panoply!

  4. jasrangoon says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Easter, Obscura! And thanks for putting my rusty Greek skills to good use. 😉

    • obscura says:

      Thanks Jas, I did…eat – church – eat… 🙂 (maybe it should go the other way??) You make screen savers and read Greek? What next…leaping tall buildings in a single bound? 😀

      • jasrangoon says:

        Eating is an integral part of the Easter celebration! You just made sure you did plenty of it. 😉

        I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I can read Greek. Pretty much, I just took enough Biblical Greek to meet the requirements necessary for my degrees. But it’s always nice to know that I can still understand little things here and there. 🙂

        • obscura says:

          I loved the Greek New Testament class for all the wrong reasons…Wrong reason #1: very easy to find a good translation for the assigned Greek passages 🙂 Wrong Reason #2: I already knew how a lot of the readings went, so all I needed to translate were some key phrases and could do the rest from memory. I could also call this “How I got through the Greek required for my bachelor’s degree” 😉

          • jasrangoon says:

            Lucky duck! My classes didn’t use Scripture passages for the assignments most of the time. Instead we had to translate sentences made up of words found in the New Testament. Let’s just say I scraped by. As much as I would like to be good at languages, I’m really not. 🙂

          • obscura says:

            “scraped by” would be a good descriptor of my language classes…I think my memory may be somewhat photographic in that on translation exams, if I could get some of the translation going, I was usually able to visualize my translation of passages and fudge it from there. Technically I can “read” Greek and Latin – actually, not so much – Teach it? No thanks! My mantra was volunteer early and often for the material I had mastered 🙂 Students reading this…DO NOT follow this pattern! 🙂

Leave a Reply

