Skip to content

There’s a Wocket in my Pocket Sam I am!: SpReAd the Love Update

March 4, 2014

dr-seuss-hat

The Children’s book challenge is well underway…as of yesterday – Monday March 3, we’ve had 16 posts each of which has highlighted a different beloved children’s book ranging from the classic to the sublime.  Jazzy listed and linked them all up here.  There are a few more posts in the hopper for this week and there is still time if anyone would like to write a post or report a book donation.  To date, including the posts, the hosts and the donated books, the SpReAd the Love Children’s Book Challenge has totaled up $37 that we’ll take from the pocket of our anonymous donor and give to one of Richard Armitage’s Just Giving Charities…not bad for a first time around.

Speaking for JustGiving…look what popped up

The first installment of our initial $200 matching gift...

The first installment of our initial $200 matching gift…

Last week Jazzy threw out a little side challenge the prize for which was a donation in the winner’s name to Adam Brown’s London Marathon Just Giving page which is raising funds for the British Heart Foundation, in honor of Adam’s late father.

and the winners are...

and the winners are…

In fact, if one were to scroll through the list of donors on Adam’s page, one might find some familiar names reaching out in support.  Best of luck and all good wishes to Adam in his run!

While I’ve loved all of the great children’s book memories, this past week was bittersweet for me personally since it marked the passing of my Grandma Anna.  You may remember that I recently gave a shout out for her 101st birthday.  I can’t really be too sad…she lived a very long and very fruitful life and simply slipped away in her sleep last Thursday night…no suffering, no pain…a gift really.  I would like to take a moment and thank the almost 200 people who came yesterday to the mass celebrating Grandma Anna’s life, many of them whom I’d never met, all of them who had something nice to say.

memorial-candle

So, counting the 37 Book Challenge kindnesses and the collective kindness extended to my family and me yesterday, we are up to a grand total of 264 kindnesses…almost halfway to maxing out our second anonymous matching Sugar Mama/Daddy pledge.  Keep up the kindness Armitageworld – we are really SpReAding some Love now!!

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. jazzbaby1 permalink

    What a great update…thanks so much, Obscura!

  2. You and Jazzbaby1 are doing a great job with SpReAd the Love!

    And my heartfelt sympathies to you and your family upon the passing of your Grandma Anna. Those who came for her memorial service gave a wonderful tribute to her. Hugs!

    • Thanks Grati! STL is something that gives back tenfold for me. It was a lovely service… my husband never knew any of his grandparents, I grew up with all of mine, and I consider myself really lucky to have had a surviving grandparent into my forties :)

      • Thanks for the update! So much nicer to read about that than the usual “news” going on around us.

        My deepest condolences on the passing of Grandma Anna. *hugs*

        It is a real blessing to have our grandparents around when we are adults. I, too, had all of mine growing up. The last of them, my maternal grandmother left us when she was 98. I was in my forties, too. That in itself was a very special gift, to have her here when my own children were heading out on their own. I am so thankful that they had the opportunity to know her, and she them, up until they were young adults.

        • I’m so pleased to be able to share GOOD news every week!

          It is a very interesting thing to interact with one’s grandparents as an adult…as she got older, and less inhibited in what she would talk about, I learned some scandalous family history…I had no idea that Grandma Anna spoke Dutch ;)

  3. Servetus permalink

    I hope your Grandma Anna and my Grandma Anna can be friends. Big hugs.

Leave a Reply

Me + Richard Armitage

an occasionally cerebral feuilleton of richard armitage studies

GUYLTY PLEASURE

A place to indulge in guilty pleasures, all connected to my favourite actor - RICHARD ARMITAGE

2picsaweek

Interpreting the world - two pictures a week

RAndom thoughts

Welcome to my blog. please enjoy your stay

Armitage Agonistes

A Foray into the Fandom of Richard Armitage

April's violet

Just another WordPress.com site

Nowhere in Particular RA

wandering through the Richard Armitage fandom

richardtreehouse

Fan of Richard Armitage

Linnet Moss

On books, food, wine and beautiful men

misabelgp1

Little things that go through my mind ...

ramblings of an autistic wordsmith

Alyssa Marie Bethancourt

RAworld Secret Valentine 2014

Spreading Fandom Love Since... Well, Now...

Cross Eyed Thoughts

badass, but not glamorous in Brooklyn

Something About Love (A)

The Four R's: Reading, wRiting, Romance, and Richard Armitage

Swooning Maruca

Adventures in motherhood, fangirling, and faith.

crystalchandlyre

Days of Wine and Richard Armitage

GISBORNE'S BOY

a richard armitage art & cartoon blog

Such is Life

Little thoughts that I think

The Shield of Oak

Of Dwarves and men

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

